4G on Pyra.


Wrath Of Khan

Soul soother...
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
5,206
Age
43
Location
Ireland
So Ed has stated that we will now have access to 4G on the Pyra. It seems all the more important to have a full, fast and stable internet browser imo.

Has any work been done on browsers?

What other benefits will 4g bring us? Downloading on the go, online multiplayer on the go and probably many other things that i have yet to think of.
 

Tenka

Snakes and Fish
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
701
I thought the only problem with browsers on the Pandora was the low hardware.

I would also like to know more about the "really good mobile internet offer" ED will have for anyone who buys the 4G version.

I've never used 3G or 4G, or a smart phone.  I've read enough to follow Apple killing the mobile internet market and infinite data plans ceasing to exist, but I still hope that a reasonable mobile internet plan could be offered somewhere sometime.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,979
The OMAP5 is a much better processor for multitasking, it's dual core and with the extra system ram available on the Pyra web browsing isn't going to be a problem. I've used both Firefox and Iceweasle (different OS installs) with many tabs open without issues.

For me, I have a 2GB capped 4G data plan as Verizon are ripoff artists, so it won't do much for me and I'm most likely buying a unit without Cell capability if it's available.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,136
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
I use Firefox on my Pandora. It's compared slow of course and you can't even scroll a website if another is loading in the background (hw limits it seems) but at least Firefox works 100% and does what it should. Every other Browser I've tried just failed hardly due bugs or crashes or faulty website appearence  (Aurora, Midori...)

So if Firefox is working on the Pyra (very likely) we already have a good browser for all needs, including tons of plugins.  I personaly would like to use Opera (12) on a mobile device like I use it on my PC but I guess that's not possible.  Not a fan of actual "mobile" browsers but have not tested them much (again, not alot of real working alternatives for the Pandora).
 

Binky

Death's Steed
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
6,971
Location
16A (TO)
Qupzilla seems to be ok for most purposes, and is pretty lightweight
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
I still hope that a reasonable mobile internet plan could be offered somewhere sometime
"100%" unlimited may not happen anytime soon (if for no other reason than to discourage people from dropping their cable/dsl and going completely mobile), but in the US T-Mobile has an unlimited plan which gives your first 1GB at LTE speeds and throttles to 3G speeds after that. You don't get the highest quality netflix after the first hour but it can still work. In Canada, if you live in a major city, there are smaller companies that offer similar unlimited plans with the caveat that it only works in select cities (and you're roaming elsewhere): Wind Mobile (my carrier, highly recommended) throttles after 5GB; mobilicity is another good company with a "fair use" unlimited data plan, an ex coworker has been happy with them for years.In Europe, I have no idea.
 

Wrath Of Khan

Soul soother...
Joined
Dec 29, 2009
Messages
5,206
Age
43
Location
Ireland
Its good to hear that iceweasel/firefox runs well on the omap 5, firefox is my default browser on my crappy lappy.
 

DaMummy

Soldier Paste
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
4,417
Age
34
Location
Ohio
i use FreedomPop on my galaxy, and i get 1gb data, 500txt and 200min on lte 4g over sprints network for free, if i could somehow get this working on Pyra, id be a happy customer
 

Askarus

Forum Addict!
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,593
Location
Germany
What other benefits will 4g bring us? Downloading on the go, online multiplayer on the go and probably many other things that i have yet to think of.
Not that much.

At least in Germany as there is no unlimited Internet.

Most phone provider have less than 1Gig high speed, and then it's about 50 kb/s.

Best available is 10Gb (once there was 15 but they abandoned it).

At least that's what I figured out 1-2 Months ago.
 

Rockthesmurf

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,114
Age
37
Location
Manchester, UK
Website
Visit site
In the UK, with Three, you can have unlimited 4G data (4GB of which can be used whilst tethering), unlimited texts and 200 talk minutes for £15 per month (about 20 Euro or $25 I guess).


In the UK (at least) for mobile or home broadband, somehow unlimited has stopped meaning unlimited, and instead means unlimited within reason. Not sure what is deemed reasonable with Three, I certainly know people using over 10GB per month on their mobile with out any issues.
 

Fzero

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
4,703
That's me.

I have that Three unlimited 4G plan ... Well I did when I had the SIM in my HTCone, but the phone I use daily at moment isn't supporting 4G unfortunately, still I get unlimited 3G and can tether when need to.

I'd never go back to a limited data plan.

Hope that with Pyra can enjoy some of Android film streaming apps over 4G
 

klapse

Central Scrutinizer
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
1,932
Location
Germany
What other benefits will 4g bring us? Downloading on the go, online multiplayer on the go and probably many other things that i have yet to think of.
Not that much.

At least in Germany as there is no unlimited Internet.

Most phone provider have less than 1Gig high speed, and then it's about 50 kb/s.

Best available is 10Gb (once there was 15 but they abandoned it).

At least that's what I figured out 1-2 Months ago.
Who offers 10Gb and for how much money? The best I found is Alditalk: 5Gb for 15e
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
Only GSM as far as I know, it needs a SIM card.

Here (PHS8) is the 3G chip EvilDragon was planning to use, and here (PLS8) is the 4G drop in replacement. Neither seems to support CDMA.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
13,950
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Technically speaking, the Pyra should support WCDMA aka. Wideband CDMA aka. UMTS aka. 3G with a SIM. It won't support IS-95 aka. CDMAone or IS-2000 aka. CDMA2000, as I read the specs.
 

rygD

Nihilistic Mystic
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
7,481
Location
Everywhere
I am just wondering if companies will allow us to use a voice plan with the Pyra, or if I will be stuck with just a data plan.
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
They won't be able to stop you. From their perspective it will connect to the network exactly the same as any other phone. Put your SIM card in and they won't know the difference.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
13,950
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
I wonder how telcos are able to tell if you're tethering or not. They could tell by the type of traffic you're requesting, I guess, but only after observing your connection for a little while, whereas if you're not set up for tethering, telcos these days block the connection on the first packet, it seems.
 
Top