A Viewpoint After 3 Months Of Lurking And Anticipation

lucidchaos

Website
Visit site
Hello.

I've been lurking on the boards for a few months now ever since I was looking up GP2X info and caught wind of the Pandora. Since then I have been checking back nearly every day in anticipation of new info. Unfortunately I missed most of the developments and it seems now most of the chatter concerns who's getting one and what they are using it for.

I am planning on getting one.

I will be pre-ordering, although I have never pre-ordered anything before.

And to be honest with you, I haven't the slightest clue what I will do with it.

The capabilities blow my mind. I have only used two pieces of hardware that I can compare to a Pandora. One is a Windows laptop, and the other is a Palm handheld. I have VERY little experience with Linux, although this is one aspect of the Pandora I am excited about. However, never being a part of the GP2X or Linux world, I have NO IDEA what to expect in terms of software to make the device useful.

Sure, I use my palm TX and Centro for everything from book reading to games (Bike or Die FTW) to a universal remote, mp3 player, GPS system for streets and geocaches, and, of course, that friendly morning reminder that it would be a bad idea to fail to wake up and go to work.

And most nights, tonight included, I will fall asleep to the cool white glow of Wikipedia or Google news or one of the many movies or TV shows shared on my hard drives throughout the house, or perhaps playing some good ol' Super Mario RPG or Bionic Commando, or perhaps watching animated clipart over a yellow background while Yahtzee complains about the last game he's played.