Advice on making money

zonova

Hey guys, I thought I would run this question by you. I'm in the US and I've been programming for about 5 years, though I've never really done a full project. I'm in college and I need to make money, and I'd like to be able to do it with programming. I looked into freelancing, but a lot of those sites seem to be quite filled with people whose profiles already have very high ratings, so it would be very difficult for me to get any jobs(I think). I was also thinking about app creation, though it makes me a bit nervous because it seems like it would involve some big projects and I don't know if I can do it. I also don't know where to start on that end. Would you guys have any advice? Whether it's on where I should start or what I could do. Just to be clear, I can program in Java, C/C++, and python.

Get a job at a services company, and get some experience on a real project. The "I've never really done a full project" is going to be an issue to become a freelancer.

So I would get some hands-on experience first, then when you feel comfortable in your abilties you can think of being a freelancer.

... good points, but also visibility. Some would want to do a background check on you, after they know you can do the job (have knowledge in xyz), just to see if you are reliable.

Most freelance is word of mouth, which in web-terms means you need a good contacts list, there is a facebook kind of thing for work, called linked-in. There you can expose your professional achievements.

http://linkedin.com/

Before you put any text on that, browse similar skilled people. Try to grasp the language, keywords, etc they use. Mimic that. Some actually put their kindergarten in there, which is not that professional. Once you've done one "real project", ask key people to comment on that and recommend you. Build karma, as it were.

If you are going to post a pic, dress for success, smile, but do not grin, slant your head slightly sideways, gives you an edge.