Arduino Gui Porting To Openpandora - Possible? Help?

kingoddball

Posted Yesterday, 01:06 PM
Hi There!
I have not got an openpandora yet, I plan to upon the release of this batch.
I plan on using my OpenPandora for EVERYTHING!

Now, the hard part for me.
I program and create alot of hardware devices (online household control, robots, security systems, motorbike ignition and security devices etc etc etc) using Arduino ( www.arduino.cc ) which is an OpenSource hardware development platform.

Unfortunately I have no knowledge of software programming (only basic HTML and VisualBasic/RealBasic), I have contacted members over at arduino Forum and they believe that the Arduino GUI should quite easily be ported to OpenPandora (beagle board aswell), but I need someone with knowledge in this field to help me with this issue.

I'll copy/paste the responce I received from a very knowledgable arduino member.

"Re: Arduino GUI compiled for ARM CPU OpenPandora ??
Reply #1 - Yesterday at 23:15:10

This should possible.

Since the Pandora is closely related to the BeagleBoard this will focus on BB. They both run Angstrom Linux for ARMv7A/CortexA8 ARM processors.

Arduino IDE is written in Java so you need Java for Angstrom/OE http://elinux.org/BeagleBoard#Java, this is not really standard Sun Java so some tweaking might be necessary.

Then you need the gcc-avr toolchain compiled for crosscompilation on ARMv7A, doable but will take some time if you have not built cross compilation toolchains before.

Building avrdudue for ARM should be easy.

FTDI serial port over USB is already in Angstrom Linux.

Then figure out how to distribute/install this in a nice and clean way to the Pandora.

It might keep you occupied for some weekends, but it should work."

Thank you all so very much, ANY help would be greatly appreciated.

wait, you can do arduino with no skillz at programming? explain this plox.

I dont know what a "Plox" is, but ad was stated.... I don't know SOFTWARE programming.