Best way for script to do web request and system commands

asimov-solensan

Very Active Member
Hello,

I have got a DVB-T server at home. I created a web interface that initializes the receiver and then mumudvb generates a streaming link that can be opened with VLC or similar.

This was nice in older firefox versions because the link was opened with the vlc-plugin and it was seamless. In android also works because firefox just allows you to choose a program (kodi for instance reads the stream without problem).

But newer versions of firefox are a PITA and even if I choose a program to open the stream it tries to download a file (of course of infinite length) and the open it in the selected program.

Of course in pandora none of those methods works. I can simply copy the link in VLC. But, hell, I'm an engineer, it's in my DNA to overcomplicate things to unnecessary extents.

So I was thinking how could be a way to do an interface that does some web requests and the calls VLC (is it possible to call pnd_run vlc and then open the link?). I would like to find a way of doing this as portable as possible but Pandora is my main concern right now.

For instance I have got this solved in my computer with an Xdialog script, but I checked that this isn't available on Pandora. And I want it to have some sort of graphic interface.

Is there any web browser that allows to script "Open with ..." options? That would also solve my problem.

Regards.

Launching a PND from the Terminal
See the example for Chromium.

Also look into waterfox if you want to still use your old ff plugin...

--- edit: Adding real world example

Code:
/usr/pandora/scripts/pnd_run.sh -p /media/PANTOFFEL/pandora/apps/vlc.pnd -e scripts/vlc.sh -a /media/PANTOFFEL/MEDIA/Quantum_Physics_Debunks_Materialism.mp4

Last edited:
Regarding doing it from a web browser, registering a custom protocol comes to mind.