Pandora Compiling For Pandora (Tcc?)

ljones

Hello all :) !

Now that I have my pandora (yay!) I'm now starting to wonder just how to compile programs for the pandora that already exist with source and what to use. I'm no programmer but there's at least one or two programs I'd like to compile for the pandora. I've not tried any of it yet but the thought did occur -- if anyone wants to compile on the pandora itself would it be a better idea to try to use tcc ( http://bellard.org/tcc/ ) instead of gcc? Maybe that would be better for the pandora and work faster?

Might be intresting to get bacon basic ( http://www.basic-converter.org/ ) going on the pandora!

ljones

"FAST! tcc generates x86 code. No byte code overhead. Compile, assemble and link several times faster than GCC."

That should probably answer your question.

Exophase said:
"FAST! tcc generates x86 code. No byte code overhead. Compile, assemble and link several times faster than GCC."

That should probably answer your question.

Ack! Oh well worth a try :-( . Wonder if there's anything else similar to it? GCC would be enormous!

ljones

Last edited by a moderator:
ljones said:
GCC would be enormous!
63 MB installed here, and it includes the C++ compiler.
It probably uses less than that much RAM when it's compiling, but it will also use some RAM to hold partially-compiled code. I can't say how it will perform with 256 MB, but compiling large programs might be very, very slow.

If you want something small and fast, get Google Go. It's not useful at all because there don't seem to be many libraries yet, but the compiler is ridiculously fast and I believe there is an ARM version.

GCC should be fine for modestly sized programs, but if you try compiled C files that expand to tens of thousands of LOC then you'll run out of RAM fast. I've needed 1+GB to compile files like that.

Multiplex said:
Clang claims to be faster and use quite a bit less memory than GCC.