Different Firmwares


saintdragon

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
967
Age
29
Location
LONDON
Website
Visit site
wind ups or yafl!!!!

why: cause there brilliant/amazing.

question: why make a post when you can test it youself? every one has there opinion and wind ups and yafl is mine but you might not like it so try yourself.
 

exael

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
177
Age
41
Location
Coimbra, Portugal
Website
www.ruc.pt
Ehehe thanks for the suggestion but I started the post because I am quite new to the GP32, and there supposedly are risks in flashing the system so therefore I wouldn't want to start trying blindly :p
 

exael

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
177
Age
41
Location
Coimbra, Portugal
Website
www.ruc.pt
Nilsiboy posted on Mar 30 2005 at 06:29 PM said:
windups/yafl are no firmwares.....
I'll suggest nothing coz i have no blu+, sorry ;)

True but I sorta got what he meant :p since most firmwares I've seen include at least wind-ups :p however suggestions of real firmware packages would be most appreciated :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

woogal

Certified Guru
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
1,823
Age
44
Location
Newark, UK
Website
gp32.sector808.org
Nilsiboy posted on Mar 30 2005 at 06:29 PM said:
windups/yafl are no firmwares.....
They can be. A firmware on the gp32 is a bios + an executable. Take yafl, combine it with a bios and you've got a yafl firmware. You can actually make a firmware out of any fxe but just don't try and do it with an fxe that can't launch other files :).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Hanz™

FIGHT THE POWER! :D
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
2,577
Age
34
Location
fan
Website
Visit site
Talyz posted on Mar 30 2005 at 07:50 PM said:
Slubman (I think there's a BLU+ version)
Seconded, it is much better than the original and all the others.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jred

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
8
I personally go for the Mr Sporty multi one, and just have it auto boot to the newer european firmware, and when i need it i just hold select and turn it on and i'm in the menu so i can go to pacrom and format and smc if necessary, or maybe wind-ups to delete a file off of an smc from the gp32 itself.

to me that is useful.
 

DemonStar55

chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Messages
1,889
Age
32
Location
Wrentham, MA
Website
demonstar55.phpnet.us
Hanz™ posted on Mar 30 2005 at 01:59 PM said:
Talyz posted on Mar 30 2005 at 07:50 PM said:
Slubman (I think there's a BLU+ version)
Seconded, it is much better than the original and all the others.
3rd it I was using the defualt BLU one but then I coldn't fix my SMC so I switched and the format tool w/ it fixed it
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ZenGP32

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
23
I used to love pacrom, it was brilliant. I had it on my old flu.

Now I have a blu+ with the normal firmware. I miss pacrom :/
 

Thraka

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
116
Hanz™ posted on Mar 30 2005 at 11:59 AM said:
Talyz posted on Mar 30 2005 at 07:50 PM said:
Slubman (I think there's a BLU+ version)
Seconded, it is much better than the original and all the others.

So what does it offer over the original? I still have the original in mine :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tekt5

NazcaBeer Spokesman
Joined
Feb 9, 2004
Messages
1,085
Age
33
Location
USA
Website
Visit site
I'd go for GPBios
thats what I have
It allows you to easilly launch any 3 fxe's or .bin(firmware's) without having to flash..
THis makes It very easy to test out various firmware and file launchers without worry!

The only thing is that I'm not sure if it is compatible with BLU+ I'd think so though..
 

Hanz™

FIGHT THE POWER! :D
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
2,577
Age
34
Location
fan
Website
Visit site
Thraka posted on Mar 30 2005 at 11:19 PM said:
Hanz™ posted on Mar 30 2005 at 11:59 AM said:
Talyz posted on Mar 30 2005 at 07:50 PM said:
Slubman (I think there's a BLU+ version)
Seconded, it is much better than the original and all the others.

So what does it offer over the original? I still have the original in mine :)
There is an explorer which you can use to delete and rename and create folders and move files around (and all of that shit).
And it also has a format, if your card has got busted and you need to format it to get it to work on a GP32.
It also has (Well one copy does anyway) Phodrive which allows you to transfer files onto the GP32 really quickly and effectively use it as another hard drive.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

bourbon

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
245
Location
Minnesota
Website
Visit site
DemonStar55 posted on Mar 30 2005 at 08:13 PM said:
Hanz™ posted on Mar 30 2005 at 01:59 PM said:
Talyz posted on Mar 30 2005 at 07:50 PM said:
Slubman (I think there's a BLU+ version)
Seconded, it is much better than the original and all the others.
3rd it I was using the defualt BLU one but then I coldn't fix my SMC so I switched and the format tool w/ it fixed it
4ed-5ed-or what ever it is now :lol: .
Try out the .fxe one firs to see if u like it.

Bourbon
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top