Doukutsu Monogatari ~ Cave Story


Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
Profile.dat = your savegame
Version independent. You can even bring your Profile.dat from the original PC/Windows game.

BTW, 1.02 (some minor bugs fixed) will probably be available tomorrow, I already uploaded it ;)
 

Draken

Very Active Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
1,262
Age
31
Location
Belgium
Website
Visit site
The profile.dat file is the savegame. The original doesn't have additional savegames either, so if you want other people to play their own game, you'll have to rename your profile.dat to something else temporarely.

Edit: Didn't see Simon posted the same thing 10 minutes before me. :)
 

Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
Is there really a problem with the number of files? From what I recall it's only ~400 files. Ok, it needs 16MB on my SD (instead of 6MB on my HD's ext3 FS).

I could stuff everything into a ZIP file, but that would probably be a lot of work. Everywhere in the code files are read/written using stdio, so if I map that to a ZIP I would have to change everything.

I don't know how they did with egoboo.
EDIT: Ok, now I know how. They used a cramfs mounted via loopback. That's a nice way how to do it. Should be possible without changing the source code at all. Just pack the data/ folder into data.cramfs and mount that as data/ before running the game.
 

JyCet

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2004
Messages
469
Age
115
Location
France
Website
Visit site
Simon Parzer said:
Is there really a problem with the number of files? From what I recall it's only ~400 files. Ok, it needs 16MB on my SD (instead of 6MB on my HD's ext3 FS).

I could stuff everything into a ZIP file, but that would probably be a lot of work. Everywhere in the code files are read/written using stdio, so if I map that to a ZIP I would have to change everything.

I don't know how they did with egoboo.
EDIT: Ok, now I know how. They used a cramfs mounted via loopback. That's a nice way how to do it. Should be possible without changing the source code at all. Just pack the data/ folder into data.cramfs and mount that as data/ before running the game.
Yes, i suggess cramfs too, it's only a batch file and 2 modules ;)
Very easy to use :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
I tried using cramfs. It's 2.9 MB instead of 16 MB on my SD card now, with slightly increased loading times.
Question is if this is really needed. If anyone wants it, I release it.
 

Yod4z

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
916
Age
42
Location
France
Simon Parzer said:
I tried using cramfs. It's 2.9 MB instead of 16 MB on my SD card now, with slightly increased loading times.
Question is if this is really needed. If anyone wants it, I release it.
maybe upload the second version with new name on gp2x.archive like "Cave Story ~ Doukutsu Monogatari cramFS version"
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
QUOTE
maybe upload the second version with new name on gp2x.archive like "Cave Story ~ Doukutsu Monogatari cramFS version"


No, don't like it that way. Too much confusion with two versions floating around.
 

Yod4z

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
916
Age
42
Location
France
I have done some new TextBox.pbm file specific for the GP2x version. you can find it here


Shot at 2007-08-19
 

Dunny

Exophase Approved® Forum Troll
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
1,112
Age
47
Location
Broughton, Brigg, UK
Website
www.zxspin.com
Simon Parzer said:
I tried using cramfs. It's 2.9 MB instead of 16 MB on my SD card now, with slightly increased loading times.
Question is if this is really needed. If anyone wants it, I release it.
I for one have refused to install this until someone applied cramfs or similar to it (same as I declined to look at egoboo due to the stupid space requirements until that was fixed) - 16mb for 2.9mb of data is insane.

So yes, I would love to get this version.

D.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Shadowsithe

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
239
Location
Canada
Website
furin.blogspot.com
Slightly longer loading times versus the at least half hour it takes to write this to an SD card, I'll take. Also, I find it's just easier to corrupt when you're dealing with such a long write.
 

Tobriand

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
4,071
Age
35
Location
Croydon (UK)
Website
Visit site
Given that the loading times as is are are entirely unnoticeable, it'd certainly be reasonable to make a CramFS release. Ideally, include both the uncompressed data and the CramFS file and make it an auto-configured option. If the game finds all the data there, it deletes the cramFS image if it's there. If it doesn't find the data there, it runs from the image.

Thus those of us who want reduced space get it (they just delete the data directory before copying) and anyone who doesn't read readmes still isn't inconvenienced by multiple packages or similar. Makes sense :)
 

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,173
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
Simon Parzer said:
I tried using cramfs. It's 2.9 MB instead of 16 MB on my SD card now, with slightly increased loading times.
Question is if this is really needed. If anyone wants it, I release it.
As long this doesn't mean ingame loading delays during fights, do it please, the Game has 400 files and this cries after an archive function :) Maybe some trick like mmuhack or so could do neutralize longer loading times with the archive function? 2.9MB instead of 16MB sounds very cool.

Yod4z said:
I have done some new TextBox.pbm file specific for the GP2x version. you can find it here


Shot at 2007-08-19


Thanks, very useful. Now I'm no longer searching for the "ESC" key on my GP2X :lol: Is this "pbm" a special image format for the game? For fun I would like to extract the graphics maybe, which programm is needed?

By the way, somebody tested the game with less than 200MHz? I would do it but without FPS display its not ideal measurement.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
QUOTE
By the way, somebody tested the game with less than 200MHz? I would do it but without FPS display its not ideal measurement.

I tested it with 150 MHz and FPS display. Runs acceptable but not quite full speed (~40-45 FPS).

QUOTE

Thanks, very useful. Now I'm no longer searching for the "ESC" key on my GP2X laugh.gif Is this "pbm" a special image format for the game? For fun I would like to extract the graphics maybe, which programm is needed?

pbm stands for 'pixel bitmap', but in reality it's a simple BMP format (4-bit uncompressed Windows BMP). You can open it with mspaint.
 

Apesandtapes

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
16
About playing the game at different clock speeds: I've been playing the doukutsu.gpe version at 166 after initially playing for a while at 200. Haven't noticed any difference in speed or anything, though not looking at FPS. I haven't tried playing the -sw.gpe version at all, so can't comment on that.
 

Yod4z

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Messages
916
Age
42
Location
France
fusion_power said:
Thanks, very useful. Now I'm no longer searching for the "ESC" key on my GP2X :lol: Is this "pbm" a special image format for the game? For fun I would like to extract the graphics maybe, which programm is needed?
it's just an bmp file with at the end of file © pixel. you can edit with pbrush and use an hexa editor to add "© pixel" at the end ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Oncer

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
168
Age
34
Website
Visit site
Ok, I'll do another release. This time with cramfs support and the GP2X TextBox.pbm. Probably Wednesday or Friday as I haven't got much time.
 
Top