Fenix - Noob


saboteur

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
172
Hi, as a fenix noob I'd be gratefull for a little advice.

I've got the runtime and samples on my GP2x and they run fine.
I've got fenix and flamebird installed and my test program runs ( following ED's tutorial ).

Thing is how do I get this to run on my GP2X ??

After compiling and running, I have a .prg and .dcb file but then I'm stuck.

ED's tut is for the GP32 and I've managed to confuse myself so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Saboteur
 

sam fisher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
9,452
Location
Bristol, UK
Website
blog.peter-r.co.uk
Download a game such as boomshine, or ruckman. Delete all the data inside the "Data" directory. Then place your .dcb file in there. Then edit the .gpe file to point to your filename.
 

saboteur

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
172
sam fisher said:
Download a game such as boomshine, or ruckman. Delete all the data inside the "Data" directory. Then place your .dcb file in there. Then edit the .gpe file to point to your filename.
Ta muchly - I found Chaozz's thread just before your reply DOH!

Anyhoo I have a file called scroller.dcb which looks like :

program hello;
BEGIN
x = 0;
while(x<320)
delete_text(0);
x+=2;
write(0,x,100,1,"hello");
Frame;
end;
end;

and scroller.gpe which looks like:

#!/bin/sh
cd runtime
./fxi ../scroller.dcb
cd /usr/gp2x
exec /usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu

when I run scroller.gpe I get a black screen for a second or so then the it reverts to the GP2x menu

Is this a problem with the code in the dcb or the .gpe setup ?? Do I have to set up flamebird to compile specificaly for the GP2x ??

Thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sam fisher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
9,452
Location
Bristol, UK
Website
blog.peter-r.co.uk
You need to save the .dcb with unix line endings. Or, update your firmware to a newer version where that doesnt matter (2.1.1 I think).

Download "programmers notepad", open the file, click "save as" and select unix line endings.
 

saboteur

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
172
sam fisher said:
You need to save the .dcb with unix line endings. Or, update your firmware to a newer version where that doesnt matter (2.1.1 I think).

Download "programmers notepad", open the file, click "save as" and select unix line endings.
Thanks Sam.

S'okay though - I downloaded and hacked boomshine as instructed and all works.

Now for my programming masterpeice.

Cheers
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Quiest

I like turtles!
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
3,411
Age
38
Location
Dteuschland ;)
CODE
program hello;
BEGIN
x = 0;
while(x<320)
delete_text(0);
x+=2;
write(0,x,100,1,"hello");
Frame;
end;
end;


You are really good at spotting errors, Peters :p

Dont tell me this runs the way it is on the gp2x, cause you are missing the command to init the screen...

Put a CODE
set_mode(320,240,16);
set_fps(30,0);
after the begin.
 

sam fisher

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2004
Messages
9,452
Location
Bristol, UK
Website
blog.peter-r.co.uk
Quiest said:
CODE
program hello;
BEGIN
x = 0;
while(x<320)
delete_text(0);
x+=2;
write(0,x,100,1,"hello");
Frame;
end;
end;
You are really good at spotting errors, Peters :p

Dont tell me this runs the way it is on the gp2x, cause you are missing the command to init the screen...

Put a CODE
set_mode(320,240,16);
set_fps(30,0);
after the begin.

The screen by defauly inits to 320*200 ;)

I didn't take one look at his code anyhow :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top