Freenet For Pandora/Pyra

J

jes3

Hi everyone,

I have a quick question.

Is there any way to make Freenet work on The Pandora and future Pyra?

This is the link: Freenetproject.org

Looks possible, since the source is available and they've already done a Linux port.

I can't say more than that, since I'm not experienced in this stuff - but it could be as easy as just compiling it for ARM (or there could be a horrible mess of dependancies and weird hardcoded assumptions)

I daresay a more knowledgable person than myself will be along shortly...

Since freenet is written in Java, it might be a bit heavy for the pandora. Pyra should have no such problems.

EDIT: I have just run the official installer. It spits a few errors in the process, but the resulting installation seems to work nevertheless.

EDIT2: Freenet runs fine on my 1GHz pandora. Like I expected, it is a bit too heavy for it, taking 200 MB of RAM (and another 150 are taken by PaleMoon) and lots of CPU cycles. But it's definitively functional.

Last edited by a moderator:
@dimagog: how did you get past the initial problems? I got an error of no permission when I tried to install. Can you tweak it and make a pnd-file out if it?

@dimagog: how did you get past the initial problems? I got an error of no permission when I tried to install. Can you tweak it and make a pnd-file out if it?
You'd have to install somewhere you have permission to write to. Also, installing freenet on FAT32 may be a problem, since there is no permissions support on FAT32.

I'm working on a PND right now, it might take me a couple of days since I want to provide native libraries where possible to improve performance.

Thanks dimagOg! I just downloaded it and will test it this evening! I have a 1ghz Pandy. Also thanks Binky, you were right :)

I haven't tried freenet yet, but the similar i2p. It's written in Java, too, and it runs fine on Rebirth.