Gfx Performance

Adventus

GP Mania
Im considering moving into the GP2X game development scene, but first i would like to know what this interesting little machine is capable of, particularly in the graphics department. I have some experience (2 years) in the indie game scene and I'm moderately fluent in OpenGL and C++.... Still I'm not quite willing to write my own software rasterizer....

I've seen the gpu940 egoboo port (quite impressive) amongst other things (Quake, PSX emu, etc), and i have a few questions i hope you guys can answer:
  • 1. In the current gpu940 build what is a feasible maximum onscreen textured triangle count at say 266mhz and 25~30fps (non-perspective & no z buffer) ?.
  • 2. Would gpu940 be a good choice for a 2d topdown game which relies heavily on screen and sprite rotation? or would Vincent/Hw SDL be faster?.... Payback proves this type of game is possible (with Additve Bloom and lightmaps to boot), although im not aiming for that level of 3d-ness.
  • 3. Does gpu940 perform hidden surface removal? Im guessing it does....
  • 4. Does gpu940 support any varieties of blending? i.e. additive, alpha, etc.
Sorry if these questions have been asked before, but i cant seem to find anything specifically relating to what im asking. Also note that i do not currently have a GP2X in my sweaty paws (ill wait for the F200), so dont tell me to test it myself. XD.

F-200 is coming out this month ... preorder yours now :p
Well aware, twas just hoping I could guage its performance before i decided on whether a PSP would better suit me.

If your into 3D software development, then the 2X will be a poor choice. You would be better with the PSP which has hardware 3D support (or perhaps wait till next year for the Craiginator which will be more than twice as fast as the 2X and have hardware 3D, yet still be homebrew friendly)