GINGE


raindog

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
139
I tried ZDoom and it didn´t work. Am i doing it wrong or might it be that it just doesn´t work at all?

Thanks.

Edit:

I´ve tried several games.

Working:

- Battle Jewels

- Knight Lore Remake

- Monaco

- LadyKiller



Not working:

- ZDoom

- Gemdrop (graphical corruption)

- Glaurung 2x

- Game and Watch Mario bros

- Nebulus

- Shadow Warrior 2x beta

- Supaplex
 

Mr 2X

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
443
Website
lostsite.altervista.org

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
44
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
Pandora test results so far.

Working

Boomshine2x http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2229
Duke3D http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,20,956
Quake http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,20,855
Mario Nifty lifty http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,35,2686
sqdef http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,29,2261
Ruckman http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2236
Protozoa http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2110
Space Varments http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2527
SmallBall in Changeland http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2626
Trap75 http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2762
Abuse http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,35,2677 (starts up fine but needs touch screen to navigate)
Animatch http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,25,2725
Blingo http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,25,1985
Candice DeBéBé's pregnancy simulator http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,37,2799
d1x-rebirth http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,20,1981
Meritous http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,26,2777
Mushroom Roulette http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,25,2821
noiz2a http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,30,1106
Snake on Dope http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2590
Supertux http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,35,1454
Wargus http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,20,2658
ScummVM http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/GP2X


Not Working

B'lox http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,25,2515 (won't start)
Cat Trap http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2841 (won't start)
Giana's Return http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,35,2811 (won't start)
Paper Plane http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2775 (runs, but displays only snippets of graphics, not playable)
SimOniZ http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,27,2691 (starts but displays almost nothing. Locked up, Q to quit didn't work.)
Sleuth Slots http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,37,2303 (exits after splash screen)
Ur-Quan Masters http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,29,2390 (halts at splash screen)
KETM - kill everything that moves. Can't find link. (won't start)
STPPC2X http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,25,2694 (won't start)
OpenTyrian http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/gp2x.cgi?0,0,0,0,30,2433 (launches to menu, crashes on 'new game')
FreeSCI http://www.pdroms.de/news/12698/ (dead link) (gets to menu, crashes on game select)
 

frolik

Bass Invader
Joined
Nov 1, 2003
Messages
1,382
Age
44
Location
Brighton UK
Website
Visit site
So good to be able to finally run Exult on the Wiz, it's just such a pain that the touchscreen will not work :(

Be still my heart
 

raindog

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2009
Messages
139
frolik said:
So good to be able to finally run Exult on the Wiz, it's just such a pain that the touchscreen will not work :(

Be still my heart

Puck, the port author, said that he will make a Wiz version with touchscreen support, even knowing that exult works in ginge.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
Azerty16 said:
Hey notaz!
Please release a new version only if you have the time for it of course
Sure, I've been carried away by another project. will try to do it this week.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mr 2X

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
443
Website
lostsite.altervista.org
About ScummVM problem I get this log

Code:
SNDCTL_DSP_SPEED: No such file or directory
WARNING: Could not open audio device: Couldn't set audio frequency!
WARNING: Sound initialization failed.!

I think it's the same problem with SquidgeSNES audio, DrMD and perhaps other apps.
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,512
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Mr 2X said:
About ScummVM problem I get this log

Code:
SNDCTL_DSP_SPEED: No such file or directory
 WARNING: Could not open audio device: Couldn't set audio frequency!
 WARNING: Sound initialization failed.!

I think it's the same problem with SquidgeSNES audio, DrMD and perhaps other apps.

whats your sample freq in those apps? on the wiz you want to use 22050 or 44100.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mr 2X

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
443
Website
lostsite.altervista.org
Pickle said:
Mr 2X said:
About ScummVM problem I get this log

Code:
SNDCTL_DSP_SPEED: No such file or directory
   WARNING: Could not open audio device: Couldn't set audio frequency!
   WARNING: Sound initialization failed.!

I think it's the same problem with SquidgeSNES audio, DrMD and perhaps other apps.

whats your sample freq in those apps? on the wiz you want to use 22050 or 44100.

I set 44100 on Scumm and SquidgeSNES but audio doesn't work.

New log from Scumm (it's interesting :D ). Tested game: Indy FotA.

Code:
SNDCTL_DSP_SPEED: No such file or directory
 WARNING: Could not open audio device: Couldn't set audio frequency!
 SDL_GP2X: ListModes
 SDL_GP2X: Setting video mode 320x240 16 bpp, flags=80000020
 SDL_GP2X: Freeing cursor 0x700eb338
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager freeing 256 bytes @ 0x83100000 from bucket 0x700ea510
 SDL_GP2X: merging with next bucket (0x700eb350) making 5242880 bytes
 SDL_GP2X: FreeHWSurfaces
 SDL_GP2X: Freeing bucket 0x700ea4f8 (size 17825792)
 SDL_GP2X: Freeing bucket 0x700ea510 (size 5242880)
 SDL_GP2X: InitHWSurfaces
 SDL_GP2X: InitHWSurfaces scratch = 0
 SDL_GP2X: Creating cursor 16x16
 SDL_GP2X: Allocated WMcursor @ 0x700eb350 (32)
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager allocating 256 bytes
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager adding new free bucket of 5242624 bytes @ 0x700ea510
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager allocated 256 bytes at 0x83100000
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager allocating 153600 bytes
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager adding new free bucket of 5089024 bytes @ 0x70103128
 SDL_GP2X: SurfaceManager allocated 153600 bytes at 0x83100100
 WARNING: Sound initialization failed. This may cause severe problems in some games.!
 WARNING: Sound mixer initialization failed!
 WARNING: MIDI driver depends on sound mixer, switching to null MIDI driver!
 ginge: segv 1 0x91c @ 00008904
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Reo

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
201
So since the Pandora can now do Wiz games/emulators, could it be possible (as a weird proof-of-concept) for GINGE to be ported to the GP2X to run Wiz apps? It sounds useless, and it is useless, but the concept of that sounds fun.
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,512
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Reo said:
So since the Pandora can now do Wiz games/emulators, could it be possible (as a weird proof-of-concept) for GINGE to be ported to the GP2X to run Wiz apps? It sounds useless, and it is useless, but the concept of that sounds fun.

the real question is can ginge-pandora run ginge-wiz :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Reo

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
201
Pickle said:
Reo said:
So since the Pandora can now do Wiz games/emulators, could it be possible (as a weird proof-of-concept) for GINGE to be ported to the GP2X to run Wiz apps? It sounds useless, and it is useless, but the concept of that sounds fun.

the real question is can ginge-pandora run ginge-wiz :p
Can it? Someone test!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

geise69

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
607
Reo said:
Pickle said:
Reo said:
So since the Pandora can now do Wiz games/emulators, could it be possible (as a weird proof-of-concept) for GINGE to be ported to the GP2X to run Wiz apps? It sounds useless, and it is useless, but the concept of that sounds fun.

the real question is can ginge-pandora run ginge-wiz :p
Can it? Someone test!
Haha! Then try to run the GP2X Bochs!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rorque

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
62
After trying to run some apps and games from gp2x, files front NAND just dissapear, i can see only comic folder, i cant mount NAND to PC.Any help?
 

WarmFluffyUK

The Big Wad Bolf.
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
3,384
Location
UK
Website
www.retrotech.one
I'm not sure if this has been answered already, but considering the Caanoo is supposed to be very similar to the Wiz, is it likely there will be a version of GINGE for the Caanoo at all?
 

quote

dwarf shortage
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
2,078
Age
16
Location
Cave
Website
Visit site
WarmFluffyUK said:
I'm not sure if this has been answered already, but considering the Caanoo is supposed to be very similar to the Wiz, is it likely there will be a version of GINGE for the Caanoo at all?
Yes, notaz has said that this will be possible, and will probably happen.

Edit: Do you mean a version of GINGE which runs on the Caanoo, or plays Caanoo games? I was answering to the former, because I think that's what you were asking :p.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top