GP2X Gph Toolchain For Linux With Gcc 4.0.3 And Gp2x Kernel 2.1.x

Kalimerou

Still Fresh
Hi folks !

I'm new to this forum and since I've had a GP2x for only 3 days, I'm also new to GP2x programming.

Actually, I was quite wondering : why does nobody discuss about GPH toolchain ?

Trying to build that toolchain on a Linux Ubuntu, I didn't even figure out that they were other ones. So whatever, I started building this one.
The building process aborted more than once because of compilation errors, but I fixed these errors and it finally succeeded. In my way, I also modified the install script so that it would use the GP2x 2.1.x kernel instead of the old 1.4.0 one.
I thought my fixes could be useful to other developers, so I put them online. You can get them here :
http://unismetz.free.fr/buildgp2xtools.sh
http://unismetz.free.fr/gcc-4.0.3-glibc-2.3.6.patch
Just get the standard GPH SDK from http://dev.gp2x.com/sdk/gp2xsdk_linux.tar.gz, unpack it and overwrite the two files.

Please let me now if it also worked for you ! gp32_console

Edit : I noticed that one of the patches I added could'nt be applied. So please consider downloading this one instead and also this file. Extract the SDK archive in a directory, then add these two files in the same directory. Don't forget to replace gcc-4.0.3-glibc-2.3.6.patch with my own and let it rock !

It's very useful for a building a dynamic linking toolchain, but I use devkitgp2x for static linking.

I'm trying to munge together a gcc-4.1.1 with glibc-2.2.5 toolchain using Crosstool. Nothing yet, perhaps someone can help me with this confusing glibc stuff.

edit: Your buildscript is giving me ideas :)

Actually, I was quite wondering : why does nobody discuss about GPH toolchain ?
Because it isn't very good.
Could you develop, maybe tell me why "it isn't very good" ?

It's very useful for a building a dynamic linking toolchain, but I use devkitgp2x for static linking.