Gpsp Smc Game Problem

maddrone

Still Fresh
I use gpsp as GBA emulator for a long time, on psp and my Dingoo. It plays most game perfectly.

But when I play the DOOM II and some other game , it really slow and unplayable.

I am a Developer myself and I found some descrption about this problem on Exophase's(the Gpsp Author) blog long time ago.

These are what he said:

"
Anyway, even if only a few bytes are changed, with the way things work now it'll cause everything that has been compiled to be flushed. So I came up with a solution to help change this. Now I have two buffers for RAM code, a "static" one and a "dynamic" one. There are counters for code regions associated with self modifying code writes. When something has been written to enough times the region changes from static to dynamic. Now when code in that region is recompiled it will go to the dynamic buffer instead of the static one. The consequence of this is that when this code is modified in the future only the dynamic buffer needs to be flushed. If the amount of code being rewritten is relatively small then this dynamic region will be minimized.

"

It seems that he had a solution for this kind of problem.

The question is:

Is there any released version of Gpsp or any console port has solved this problem?

sorry for my poor english, thank you .

It'd be nice to have a proper GBA emulator. I am particularly interested in more technically advanced games, like Kill-Switch, Max Payne.

CloverGruff said:
It'd be nice to have a proper GBA emulator.
Sure that sound to be the best reply ever to make to this thread to be sure nobody will work ever on the request of maddrone

Last edited by a moderator:
sebt3 said:
CloverGruff said:
Sure that sound to be the best reply ever to make to this thread to be sure nobody will work ever on the request of maddrone

Ok, I apologise, that probably didn't sound so nice anyway.