Help for new Pandora user

Charfield1

Still Fresh
Hello I have just signed up to the Community and would welcome some advice as I'm new to this platform and am trying to configure the Pandora for my 12 year old to play the many retro-type games available.

I successfully managed to bid for the Pandora via EBay and it arrived from Germany a few days ago. We are extremely pleased to aquire this tremendous machine.

The specifications are as follows;

OpenPandora (with silver case ), after charging the battery and booting up, it displays Kernel 3.2 with Angstrom System 1.60 Super Zaxxon, then opens up Xfe4 Version 4.6.2.

I understand that it might need to be upgraded, so I started by trying a few options on the GUI. First, I attempted to configure an SD card in slot 1, but the machine requires an administrative password. I then tried to connect to WLAN and it indicated that it was connected and displayed a red LED at left of machine ( though I wasn't prompted for a wireless key ). I then attempted to update/upgrade the system from the menu and again I was asked for the administrative password.

I contacted the EBay seller who was very helpful and asked that I try a password provided - unfortunately this failed. The next item of advice was to consider re-flashing the firmware, which I presume is the best way forward.

I would be grateful for any advice on how to go about this task. I have the SD card ready to download the firmware to the card, but am now stuck where to go from there.

I am hoping to have the Pandora ready for Christmas so my son can use the system to its full potential.

Apologies in advance if this message is protracted and written to the wrong thread. We have read a lot of posts, but I'm just a bit concerned that re-flashing the firmware might make the machine unusable.

Thanks in advance and Happy Christmas from the UK