GP32 Help For Newbie Gp32 Coder?

xizal

Still Fresh
Hello all.

My first post here and as I'm new to coding on the GP32 I'm hoping a guide or easy setup instructions for getting started exists.

I've read about devkitARM and I've also seen mention of another environment called ADS which is supposed to produce better quality/faster code? I've also had a look at mirko's SDK and the GP32 SDK and it would seem most people use a modified version of mirko's SDK.

Also any guides on creating a setup to build for Windows and the GP32 from the same project?

I want to start with simple multiplayer games so my two young kids can play with the GP link adaptors but I'd also like for them to be able to play the games on their PCs as well.

I don't intend to use SDL but if there's a similar lightweight SDK I can use I'd be interested in that or else I'll have to write my own.

So basically I'm hoping to get the basics from experienced GP32 coders like a few pointers on getting a Windows/GP32 build environment up and running and anything else you think might be useful for me to know.

Any help will be much appreciated.

SDL is a great way to get software ported from one platform (ie. PC) to another (ie. GP32) and vice versa.

For simple games this may be the way to go if you want games that are both available on GP32 and PC.

I've always been interested in getting the RF modules to do something interesting. There are a few examples of their use on the GP32 software archive.

Thanks for your help slaanesh.

I had thought getting it setup would be very difficult as I know very little about setting up the development environment etc but I've just now read more about SDL on the GP32 and the posts by Kidchaos on here, gp32spain and the devkitARM mailing list are especially encouraging. He also has debugging working over USB which would be handy to have too.