Help Request - Breakout Board, Ext Hdd

garengarch

Website
Visit site
I've wracked my brain (and the forum and the wiki) over this one and getting nowhere.

I have a First Edition gp2x running firmware 2.0, and the breakout board from Craig.
I have, under gp2x advanced settings, usb host set to always on, with human interface and storage set to on.
I have power supplies for the gp2x and board.
I power up the board, red power light comes on.
The gp2x is connected via the supplied (with board) ext cable to board.
I power up my (fat32 formatted) usb hdd.
edit : forgot to say, usb hdd works fine on pc
I power up the gp2x and it seems to work ok, but no ext storage :(
I've tried under games videos and pictures - nothing listed.
I have very little knowledge of Linux, but was hoping it was just a case of plug in and go.
No matter what I connect to the boards usb ports, I do NOT get a green light on the board.
I have tried a mp3 player, the usb hdd, a game joypad, and a card reader.
The card reader power light comes on, so I'm getting power through the usb.

edit2: I've now tried two different usb hdd's, same result no green light on usb port on board, no ext storage under gp2x menus
edit3: crep spolling

Can anyone think of anything else I could try?
Thanks in advance.
Gary.

garengarch posted on Sep 1 2006 at 04:05 PM said:
I have very little knowledge of Linux, but was hoping it was just a case of plug in and go.
I don't have a BOB so can't really help with that, but I do use a USB HDD connected directly to the EXT port on the GP2x. so I can tell you that it is just a case of plug in and go. There's nothing more to do other than turning on those options in the settings. Just make sure the GP2x is always the last device to get powered on.

Last edited by a moderator:
thanks sub

what worries me is that I'm not getting a green light on the board, no matter which of the 4 ports I use, and according to the board pdf, i should be.