How would I use the Pandora as a server?

Latte guy

Still Fresh
I hope to get my website up-and-running early next year, in fact my Christmas present this year is a domain name from my Dad! Right now I think that finding a good domain name is harder than scripting in HTML :lol:

I know the basics of HTML, and CSS (Still learning web-design over the school-holidays) and when I heard I could use my Pandora as a server this made me very excited! So are there any tutorials on this? I went over-and-over information about domains, hosts and name servers, but how can I use my Pandora as a server/host for my website, is there an app to use so I can point my domain to the files on my Pandora? Sorry for a bit of a newbie question, but I am still learning :)

I know it is not the ideal-hosting device, but if I connected an external Hard-Drive to the Pandora, and then got my domain to point to that? Just an idea...

You'd get yourself a Pandora... and then leave it closed? :eek: There are far better alternatives when it comes to setting up a permanent server; I have a Sheevaplug, and it's pretty spectacular as my web/torrent/backup server, while being cheaper and more readily available than a Pandora.

But since you asked, I'll try to give a brief summary: once your domain is pointing at your IP address (I'll assume you know how to do this, because I don't :p ), the rest isn't very hard. You probably have a router between your Pandora and the internet, so you need to configure NAT (aka port forwarding) on your router; have it forward port 80 (the standard for HTTP) to your Pandora. Then install an HTTP server on your Pandora; I'm fond of lighttpd, which can be installed with "opkg install lighttpd". Then configure your server so that its root directory is whichever directory you want to share.