I Just Bought A Blu, I Thought I Was Good To Go, But Not I Think I&#39

ShaolinDrunkard123

Still Fresh
Hi all, I'm new to the gp32, I just bought a BLU unit off ebay... Upon reading the FAQ I noticed it said that if I had a BLU or newer then I was all set to play homebrew. But then I went to the Gamepark newbie site, it said if your firware looks like this...
fw.jpg

Then I need the freelauncher app, I dont exactly know what that means, but that is what my firmware looks like. So Can I not play homebrew apps? What do I have to do to get this thing up and running? Oh and also of note is that I don't have the USB cable and cant find one, but I do have an SMC and a card reader on the way.

Thanks ahead of time...

Yes, the BLU was the last model of the GP32 and that is the default firmware. The freelauncher should be available on the file archive (this one should work well, although I don't know if it's the official one.)

I would recommend flashing a different firmware though since you don't have to bother going through the freelauncher. I always liked Pacrom. Just make sure you get a good guide so you don't brick your system.

Hi SD and welcome to the fold,

Hopefully things may not be as bad as they seem.

If you could do one thing for me to confirm this either way, Then we may be able to
suggest your next move.

If you could power on your GP32 while holding the select button and let me know if a black and white menu with four options to choose appears ?.

Like this, But with the colours reversed.

firmware8.png

If so, Then you do not need freelauncher, And are free to copy programs onto your SMC`s GPMM folder.

If this menu does not appear, Then it looks as though you may indeed have the original korean firmware, And will most likely need to acquire the hacked freelauncher.

Hacked Freelauncher.