My screen has developed a fault - purple colours

aholmes

Hi everyone

I'm new to the Pandora scene for only 2 weeks or so. Really love playing PS1 games at near full speed and Mario 64 as well as others. Thats the reason why I bought it. However, my lcd screen has developed a fault where the colours have darkened to a purple tint. This happens when I flip the Pandora screen all the way up but when the screen is half way down the colours comes back to normal. My Pandora is the first batch if that helps.

Could I get this repaired at all and where could I send it to? Do I have to get a RMA number first?

I'm from the UK.

A Holmes

You say you have only had the unit for 2 weeks, where did you get it from? As the fault you mention, while easily fixed (for good) would suggest a unit about 5-6 months old at the newest.

Last edited by a moderator:
He said its a first batch unit, so I bet its from Ebay.

yes, i bought it from ebay a couple of weeks ago. The previous guy owned it for two years so i guess he received it sometime in 2010.

Can i still get this repaired and how much would it cost me? Or do i order a new case and lcd and just pop my old pcb in, but i dont fancy the silver case.

I've been looking around on this forum and it appears its a common issue with these first batches of Pandora

pleaseeeeeeeeeee help anyone

https://www.youtube.com/embed/l8GfjAsbmK8?feature=oembed
If you are confident with tech, buy some spare new cables (most people break one when fitting the hinge) and replace it yourself.

You could also send your Pandora in to repairs (which you might have to pay for)

Don't buy a new case or lcd unless either is broken - the 'purple tint of death' is caused by the (old, poorly designed lcd cables) failing

i've seen the video but i dont feel too confident in doing it. I would rather leave it to the pros.

where is edd. can i send it to him instead :)

where is edd
OpenPandora GmbH

CEO: Michael Mrozek

Schaeffbraeustr. 11

85049 Ingolstadt