Nds Lite And Flashcart Stuff - How Does It Work?

Vollgasasi

Hi guys! i own a nds and i want to be able to use it for homebrew and game ...eh..backups. :) and no i don't want to pirate! really i own 5 ds games already and many gba games! i just wanted to test out some .. eh ...backups like the resident evil one and wanna know if it's worth purchasing (because i played the ps one original and wanna know if its different) ya and homebrew of course like rts remakes (command and conquer and stuff - touch control yay!)

so guys please tell me: how does it work? what do i need? i'm a total noob and i need a step by step guy with what to buy and how to set up!

thanks a lot

You need some form of flash card: M3 or Supercard are the most commonly used since they use SD cards to store the homebrew.

You also need a passme... the type of passme is defferent depending on how new your DS is. Since you have a Lite you'll need a passme2 or newer.

In order to play homebrew/backups you have to have the passme inserted and it will automatically take you to your flash cards menu screen, where you choose your game/homebrew.

The passme2 needs programming to a specific game. You can flash the NDS with the flashme firmware and thus eleviate the need to use the passme2.

The passme2 needs programming to a specific game. You can flash the NDS with the flashme firmware and thus eleviate the need to use the passme2.
Or get a passkey 3, which doesn't need any specific programing (IIRC) and doesn't stick out of the NDS cartridge slot either.

Last edited by a moderator:
You don´t need a passme, if you have the right WIFI card (cheaper than a passme) you´ll be able to flash a new firmware called flashme on your DS which will do the job just as fine and isn´t as blocky as a passme.

uh...now i'm even more confused than i was before i guess....

what do you mean by WIFI card? a wifi card for the ds? or a card in my laptop/pc? i don't quite get what you mean fishbong.