New Playstation Emulator : Pcs2x

tuXXX

Still Fresh
Hi,

I bought a GP2X and got it 3 weeks ago (I'm travelling frequently by train these days so I have to do something ;)).
I've been using GNU/Linux for 4 years and I like coding.

I checked the available emulators and tried many of them (NES, MegaDrive...) when I saw the psx4gp2x PSX emulator.

I'm able to run Wip3out, but not at full speed (and I can't overclock to more than 250) so I tried to see how to improve it. But the source code of psx4gp2x is not available.

So I planned to port an open source emulator to the GP2X, the first thing is the choice of the emulator, but the only one available was Pcsx because every other one I looked at were closed-source (ePSXe? pSX?).
But this is only the core of the emulator, plugins are needed too, I took P.E.Op.S. SoftGPU as a GPU plugin (well, OpenGL isn't really available on the GP2X ;)) and cdriso (again, there is no CDrom drive on the GP2X).

From there I had to do many things : compile with the GP2X cross compiler, remove all x86 asm, reorganize of the source code to clean it and create a new build system, remove the plugin system and build plugins directly into the executable (they have to be in the correct license to do this, but the two plugins are compatible), remove every configuration utility and many configuration files, add SDL support to the gpu plugin, add a SDL pad plugin, add a sound plugin and check 2/3 more things.

SDL support is available in the GPU plugin, so it's really a good thing. I cleaned everything and built a good Makefile (I like doing this :p ). I created the SDL pad plugin and was able to test it on my computer. I created an empty SPU (sound) plugin.

And yes, I'm able to build it for the GP2X, the HLE is not working so it needs a real BIOS but, it runs!
It's (very) slow, I wasn't able to use the buttons to do anything, I should try to see what's wrong.
(I have a GP2X-F200 so I should buy the cradle to debug easily)