Next Gen Games Doubles Development Cost

Website
www.digitalawakening.net
I just read an article about how the increased quality of the next generation of games are pushing the cost of development. We may see an increase in the price of console games from today's $49 to $59 or even $69. Personally I'm planning on getting a job next year so I can buy a PS3 and a HD capable TV and I'm looking forward to playing games that looks amazing and I don't really mind the price increase.

However, since I'm a bedroom developer myself this is even better news from that point of view. GP2X have 2 advantages next year. First off beeing a 2D handheld with a small screen development time is cut down a lot and so is the work required. And secondly GPH will be offering DRM protected sales of games online so you can easily download the games. This dramaticly cuts down distribution costs. So it's possible to make a game in a short time and charge a very small sum for it.

You do the math. If top quality games costs more then gamers are more likely to buy cheaper games. And the great thing about cheaper games is that the possibility of unique and interesting gameplay, story and even graphic style in a game increases. I would like to compare this to manga (comics) in Japan. There's one magazine in Japan (also available in other countires) called Shonen Jump that every week have a new 450 pages issue that costs only about $2. A good manga stays and in the futue it may be turned into an anime (cartoon) series. It's no big surprice there's so many different and interesting animes (and mangas) in Japan.

Damn that would seriously suck, I already think it's enough as is. Even 40 or 50 dollars is too much for a game these days. I really hope they don't increase the price any more than they have to.