No Mess Or Atari 800 For Wiz ?

sonick

Still Fresh
Greetings all, I am a WIZ newbie, but fairly experienced with embedded linux systems and linux itself.

I play a lot of the old, emulated systems "IRL" such as the iie, trs-80, 2600, mame cab, and so on.

I plan to use the WIZ primarily as a game machine to bring my beloved retro systems on the road with me! I love my DS, but sometimes I want to go way back in time :)

Which brings me to something i noticed at dl.openhandhelds.org.

In the WIZ downloads section, the ATARI 800 , and MESS are totally missing! However, they are present in the "standard" gp2x system area.

Can I use the "standard" gp2x versions of ATARI 800 and MESS on the WIZ, in the meantime until architecture specific versions are released ? OR, am i stuck without ANY MESS or ATARI 800 on the WIZ at all ?

This is kind of a big deal to me, the MESS systems and the Atari 800 are some of my favorites. I need MESS for the TI-99/4a, the apple2ee, the colecovision and others. As for the atari 800, well, I suppose i could use mess OR "ATARI 800"

Sorry this is so long-winded. I hope someone knows what I'm getting at.

I want to use MESS and ATARI 800 on the WIZ, but the WIZ download section doesn't show these available yet. I'm assuming this will change in a few months.

In the meantime, can i use the older versions on teh WIZ ? If not, can I do anything else ?

Thanks for any help! My WIZ should be here in a week or so! I'm gathering the software right now so I am ready to dive in......

Kind Regards to everyone,
Jayson

Hello sonick,

I'm new to the scene here but I will answer your questions.

As of yet there is no Atari 800 or MESS emulation for the Wiz. This doesn't mean that it won't happen but it's not guaranteed either.

As I understand it, you definitely cannot use the GP2X emulators for the Wiz.

I'm with you on hoping for Atari 800 and Apple II emulation but thats all we can do as non-programmers. :)