Pandora And Japanese

Zorlee

Still Fresh
Hi everyone!

I'm on the fence of ordering this thing. I've been trying all kinds of "portable" solutions; netbooks, PDAs, iPod touch - but they're either not portable enough (read netbooks) or just lack in the performance part. That's why I'm seriously considering the Pandora.
I'm currently studying Japanese, and my intention for buying this handheld is to use it as a language learning tool. (Especially to use the software ANKI on it). I have a couple of questions about it though:

- Will the OS be translated into other languages, such as Japanese? I really want to use the software included, since I'm... well, not good with Linux, and it looks pretty user-friendly. On the other hand, I really like working with a 100% Japanese OS, since I learn as I use it. Am I in bad luck here?

- Will it work with this program? http://ichi2.net/anki/ ? (probably not easy to say, but I'm you guys will know better than me, hehe!)

- I used Linux Mint for a while, and it included the ANTHY (?) Japanese input. Will I be able to input Japanese with ease on the Pandora, maybe with the use of ANTHY?

Thank you guys so much for your time and patience.
Zorlee...

Zorlee said:
- Will it work with this program? http://ichi2.net/anki/ ? (probably not easy to say, but I'm you guys will know better than me, hehe!)
Yes, it will, because we have both qt4 and python ported to ARM.

Last edited by a moderator:
Anthy is available as well. If they follow gettext standards on Ångström, and I don't see why not, you can set your locale to ja_JP and have all the japanese text you like (provided you have the potfiles installed for the appropriate programs)

Fantastic. I'm getting one then!
I still hope the Pandora OS will get a Japanese translation, but it looks like the main people on here are English/American/German.
I guess other OS (like Mint/Ubuntu) would be more unstable / less optimized?