Pandora Pandora emulator or other solutions?

scippie

Hi there,

I have searched the forum and I haven't found anything about this. Sorry if that's not correct.

I am a hardcore C++ developer (on windows) and although I know my way a little around Linux (web servers), I have (almost) never developed on it. So while I am waiting for my pandora to arrive (which will probably take two months), I would like to start developing for it, hoping to be on the roll when I finally have it.

Now I would like to have a situation as close to the pandora as possible. First question: is there maybe an emulator for the pandora like you have for other handheld devices? I didn't find anything about it, so I think there probably isn't.

So, I believe that if I install an Ångström-Linux on my pc (in vmware for example), I can be quite sure that if I develop something there, it will compile on the pandora, but how do I make sure that everything will work properly? What if I use OpenGL ES? Can I emulate it as it would work on the pandora? What about processing speed? What about the rest? Are all libraries available? Stuff like that.

D.

Forget about emulation. With QEMU there is an emulator that can somewhat emulate ARM, but that's it. You don't have any comparison to the Pandora's power nor do you have any emulation of other parts of the hardware, if you want to mess around with OpenGL ES then it's alreadyworthless.

The cutting-edge Gallium drivers got OpenGL ES and IIRC AMD added OpenGL ES support to their drivers, too, so if you got an ATI or Intel card simply grab yourself a Linux distro of your choice (get something Debian-based to get an idea about the basic setup of the Pandora's system, probably Ubuntu fits quite well because it's easy to get Gallium drivers and other stuff for it) and start developing on it.