Pandora successor requirements / wishlist / ..

bsp

Very Active Member
There's been a lot of talk about which SOC should be chosen for a Pandora successor.

I am wondering: Shouldn't we first talk about the requirements a SOC has to fulfill to be considered as a successor ?

I do realize that, in regards to the SOC, there _currently_ are not that many options available anyway, so this is not only about the SOC itself but also covers e.g. peripherals / controls / casing.

From my point of view (in comparison to the (current) Pandora), these requirements (..you may call it my personal wishlist..) are:

• battery life / power consumption: should be as good or better (at the same tasks) (highest priority for me, actually)
  • OS: I prefer Linux. Being able to run Android or Windows would be nice-to-have but definitely not a must.
  • full open source: preferably yes but I don't have a problem with e.g. a closed source GPU driver (unless it's a bug fest)
  • documentation: as a dev I want publically available, properly written/detailed hardware documentation
  • compatibility/ISA: there's a _lot_ of (ARM) SW available for the Pandora so being able to run (most of) that on a "P2" would be very nice. On the other hand, most of the current SW can probably be recompiled for e.g. an x86 based "P2" without much hassle. Personally I like the ARM ISA better than x86 but since I don't do much assembly coding these days I would not object to x86 _if_ a potential x86 SOC is actually better than (not only as good as) a potential ARM SOC
  • wifi: nice to have but I could live with USB wifi (these things are tiny and cheap) (+problem with japanese market)
  • bluetooth: nice to have but not too important to me (+problem with japanese market) (like WiFi, small+cheap USB dongles are available)
  • NAND: should be rather large (16gb+) if there is no 2nd sdcard slot. with 2nd sdcard 512-1gig (just for the firmware) is enough.