Potential Buyer

mm0204

Still Fresh
Howdy everyone... well, here's what happened... my iPod just died and i've been looking at getting a new one op perhaps a psp, but, they're just so darn $$$$$... so, whilst googling around, i discovered the gpx2...

1. plays mp3 - just like ipod
2. plays ogg - ummm, not like ANYTHING unless u run RockBox... hmmmmm
2. plays divx, xvid, mp4 vids - just like ipod
3. runs linux (i'm an open source fanatic) - well.... ipodlinux is out there but....
4. plays SERIOUS amounts of video games - not even close to ipod... obviously the psp plays more games but...
5. has a huge developer base - uhhhh just apple and sony... hmmmmm....

so, here's what i'm getting at... i am NOT a programmer but i LOVE gadgets, love linux, love games, can't live w/o music, love movies... is the gp2x a good choice for me? is the music player up to snuff? can it handle .m3u playlists? xml playlists (a la iTunes)? are there any homebrew/community driven music players that do handle the before mentioned? i read a review on someone's blog of their personal experience and this guy ended up busting his joystick after like 2 months and essentially bricking the whole thing... is this a common experience?

my birthday is in like 3 weeks and i know i'm gonna have bday $$ burnin a hole in my pockets... :D

thanks,

Matthew aka Dawg

Dawg posted on Mar 13 2007 at 10:21 PM said:
3. runs linux (i'm an open source fanatic) - well.... ipodlinux is out there but....
4. plays SERIOUS amounts of video games - not even close to ipod... obviously the psp plays more games but...
I wouldn't compare a GP2X with an ipod..
Anyway if you like linux, and open source, then that's a big plus for the GP2X..
Next to a nice developer base, this is also a very nice community, I can't say that when checking some of the psp forums..