Potential X86 (Non ARM) SoC Alternatives

Grench

Forum Addict!
There has been a lot of fear and controversy surrounding the recent presentation and consideration of the Intel X86 based Z3770 as a potential alternative for a Pandora successor.

This is the thread for that conversation.  Previous, relatively generic threads have degenerated into irrelevance.  Please, let's not do that to this or the corresponding ARM threads?

For this thread, let's discuss part availability, capabilities, performance, performance per watt for the X86 alternatives.

Later, after one or more ARM and X86 champions are found, in another thread, we can discuss the relative strengths and weaknesses of all viable potential solutions.

I am not an expert on any SoC.  I have done some research into the Intel Z3770 X86 SoC - but I don't claim expertise.  This thread does not have to be restricted to the Intel Z3000 series.  Any X86 can be discussed to determine viability.

So, X86 proponents, what's out there that we should be looking at?

Reading materials on the Z3770:

Intel's listing for the part:

http://ark.intel.com/products/76760

Intel's published technical datasheet:

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/processors/atom/atom-z36xxx-z37xxx-datasheet-vol-1.html

What look to be media day benchmarks performed on an Intel demonstration tablet in Intel's lab:

http://us.hardware.info/reviews/4792/intel-atom-z3770-lbay-trailr-review-strong-competition-for-arm

Linux support information and speculation:

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTQ2MDI

Does anyone know of an X86 alternative other than the Intel Z3000 series (Z3770 flagship)? Or is the Z3770 the only non-ARM alternative that's actually viable?