Quite A Few Questions

lastaid

Still Fresh
Hello everyone.

1#:
I didn't read through the whole board, but i saw quite a reoccuring question:
Q:Can I execute Windows Applications with WINE?

We cannot execute Windows Binaries with WINE, because WINE IS NOT an EMULATOR and they use x86 Arch. We use an ARM RISC.
But Bochs is infact an emulator.
Windows would run slow as hell, especially with the whole linux kernel in background which brings me to my next Topic.

2#: Most of the applications depend on the whole kernel to run in background. I'm studying scientific programming, but the only language i can write in is Java, so I'm most likely to to become homeless and bipolar in the next 4-5 years. But is there a possibility to run bytecode directly like mainstream handhelds do? This would mean that we have infact the strongest handheld out there and without emulation or a linux kernel stealing res we could make the homebrew game experience go beyond anything seen before.

#3: LGPT :-D
Some of the GP32 people might know this nice piece of Software, its a Music Tracker similar to LSDj.
Everyone who wants to use the Pandora for performing Live music might be interested in this. The Interface only uses D-Pad and 2 Buttons + Shoulder Buttons ...
If Someone is out there with advanced knowledge of these Systems - using a Touchscreen could revolutionize Handheld music performance :-D

Ok, that's it for now.
Actually my only wish for the pandora is playing Tyrian, but the things above a quite interesting too.

Any Ideas?

Have a good day,

lastaid

I know the author of LGPT pretty well, and I'm sure there will be a port to Pandora in the future .. I offered to port it using the Beagleboard, but I guess he wanted to do it himself when he gets a Pandora ..

lastaid said:
Hello everyone.

1#:
I didn't read through the whole board, but i saw quite a reoccuring question:
Q:Can I execute Windows Applications with WINE?