Rediscovering Gp32

ralp99

well with the recent MAME updates released for GP32, i decided to put the gba micro down for five minutes and give the ol' boy some attention. I forgot how nicely polished so many of the emulators were for this thing! The current MAME is spectacular, no one can forget DrMD, and I just started playing with OSNES9X for the first time in ages as well - I forgot how smoothly it runs! Yeah, it doesn't work well with sound (neither MAME) but in spite of that the Snes emu is quite fast and very fun to play (no transparencies, I know). Makes me wish I had a BLU rather than a FLU to enjoy it.. maybe I will look into seeing if I can locate one (does anyone know where they're still sold? If anywhere?)

In light of all that's gone on since with GP2X, a lot of the old love for the GP32 has been pretty much "been there, done that..." I've long been interested in upgrading to 2X as well (nicer screen, TV out, more power=better emu's) but all the talk of the joystick and overall bugginess have hindered me from coughing up the dough (also, I don't have --that-- much disposable income lying around lately). Anyway it's been a nice kick to get reinvigorated about what I already have, and the fact that MAME development continues just makes it that much better.

Is anyone else out there still digging on the GP32?

On a side note - picking up OSNES9X, it makes me sad that it's been left in the state that it has - even if it's never polished up anymore on the emu side, I wish someone would take a little time to smooth out the interface or something a little (all the zipfile names get crunched illegibly) in the fashion of the other more complete emulators out there (MAME, little john, DrMD, etc). Never happen I know, but one can wish right?

Those of you who've updated to 2X - do you ever go back to the GP32 and feel like it's superior in any areas? Or is it to the point where the 2X totally blows away 32 for you at this point.. just curious.