Retroarch problems

Discussion in 'Android' started by Klumpen, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,406
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Hello,

    since PCSX-ReARMed for Android only seems to be available inside of Retroarch, I want to use that, because of the way superior performance to ePSXe, unfortunately no matter what I do, I can't save SRAM or SaveStates, so am not able to make any progress at all.
    The app is set to have writing privileges in the storage, I have tried several save game and save state locations but no matter how I do it, the Memory card is always empty and the save state writing progress gives me 0% indefinitely.

    Also: What do the "Scan Directory" and "Scan File" options do?
    I can see it scanning the directories and finding games, but nothing changes, I don't get a list of games anywhere and have to load everything manually (or via "recent").

    What did I miss?

    PS: I am using the October 2018 version from the apk, hopefully that one is current.
     
    Tags:
  2. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,902
    Did you grant it storage permission?
     
  3. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,406
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Yes.
    After reinstalling that problem fixed itself for some reason though.
    I still don't get game lists or thumbnails.
     
  4. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,856
    Location:
    Germany
    I think Retroarch tests hashes of roms vs 'known good' patterns and won't show any that cannot be uniquely associated with a platform.
    You can launch libretro emulators from the commandline, giving it a rom as an argument.
     
  5. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,406
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Commandline in Android?
     
  6. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,856
    Location:
    Germany
    I just assumed android had a shell of sorts somewhere.
    Goes to show what I know.
     

Share This Page

Loading...