Retroarch problems

Discussion in 'Android' started by Klumpen, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Hello,

    since PCSX-ReARMed for Android only seems to be available inside of Retroarch, I want to use that, because of the way superior performance to ePSXe, unfortunately no matter what I do, I can't save SRAM or SaveStates, so am not able to make any progress at all.
    The app is set to have writing privileges in the storage, I have tried several save game and save state locations but no matter how I do it, the Memory card is always empty and the save state writing progress gives me 0% indefinitely.

    Also: What do the "Scan Directory" and "Scan File" options do?
    I can see it scanning the directories and finding games, but nothing changes, I don't get a list of games anywhere and have to load everything manually (or via "recent").

    What did I miss?

    PS: I am using the October 2018 version from the apk, hopefully that one is current.
     
    Tags:
  2. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,931
    Did you grant it storage permission?
     
  3. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Yes.
    After reinstalling that problem fixed itself for some reason though.
    I still don't get game lists or thumbnails.
     
  4. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    I think Retroarch tests hashes of roms vs 'known good' patterns and won't show any that cannot be uniquely associated with a platform.
    You can launch libretro emulators from the commandline, giving it a rom as an argument.
     
  5. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,532
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    Commandline in Android?
     
  6. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    I just assumed android had a shell of sorts somewhere.
    Goes to show what I know.
     
  7. SNESFAN

    SNESFAN Retro game fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,404
    Location:
    Fort Knox, KY. USA
    try changing the path of your save states to an internal store directory. My gpd xd needed the save states to be on the internal store where I could have my roms on external. Not sure if it's an android thing or a retroarch thing.
     
  8. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe not the forum to ask this, but can retroarch vary the position of the OSD control mask? I'm worried about OLED burn-in. Well not really but It's keeping me from playing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...