TV-Out Cable - Prototype finished (2013-05-03)


ShleeDragon

Pro-Catflip
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
1,749
Don't cover Craigs queue.. It's his queue... he can find the $5000~

I'm in Craigs queue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Asmo

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
2,279
that means people will have to use an aditional male to male phono cable to plug into a tv without svideo?
All connections are sockets (female) not plugs (male) so you will need a standard male-male composite or S-Video cable to connect to a TV. Basically, this thing gives you A/V out ports for regular cables to connect to.
Looks nice but I hope there is an extension included, because that's never ever 2 Meters ED talked about
That all changed some time back, rather than have it terminate in male connectors and be a long cable, it's now a more compact 'breakout' connector. More portable, and you can leave a normal S-Video or composite cable attached to your home display, and just detach this to take with you! No need to fumble around at the back of the TV every time.
I think the reduced cable length and weight might be a saving on ED's side too.
 

Rockthesmurf

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,114
Age
38
Location
Manchester, UK
Website
Visit site
Would this be a suitable place to ask advise on the 'best' way to use this break out box and ultimately display output on a HDMI device (or should I start another thread)? I know there are various converters around (going from cheap to expensive) but it isn't an area I know anything about. It would be nice to have a recommendation to get the best picture/audio quality (without spending huge amounts of money) in terms of which converter to buy or whatever.
 

Binky

Death's Steed
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
6,997
Location
16A (TO)
Can money be saved by only shipping free cables to Criag's queue once they have their pandoras?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tenka

Snakes and Fish
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
701
It's a bit overly long and heavy looking to me.  For such a very flat port, something of this weight looks like it would stress it, at least.  As just a breakout adapter I can't think of why it needs any length. (Then again I realize we can still make our own)
 

Binky

Death's Steed
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
6,997
Location
16A (TO)
Making it long allows most of its weight to rest on a table - where a solid, one-piece adaptor block would have to hold up the weight of the male-male cable
 

moxie

The voice of reason, sense and exasperation
Staff member
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
2,707
Age
50
Location
South of Sweden
ED, I guess I am one of the original 500 Craig cable preorderers, so according to your first post, I'd be one of the people for whom you'd ship out a cable "for free", so to speak. However, I'd prefer to pay at least your costs and shipping for mine (seeing that the actual money I paid for mine so many years ago by now rests in the pockets of CC or something). Could this be arranged somehow? As in, could I sign up on a list somewhere with the title "When you get to my name on Craigs list of cable customers, please PM me so that I can pay for my cable"?
 

hedwards

Active Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
872
Is it going to be available from Link? It seems like for those of us in the Americas like it would be more cost effective to drop ship them to Link and for us to buy them from ithic.com. Although, I'm guessing that since this is a preorder that it's probably more of a hassle than it's really worth in terms of savings.
 

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
i have a TV out cable made by a kindly forum use peca.

so ED you can cancel my pre-order tv out cable

cheers
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,246
i have a TV out cable made by a kindly forum use peca.

so ED you can cancel my pre-order tv out cable

cheers
Did you order from ED? or Craig? and how would he know your order from just your username / forum information.
 

Silent-Hunter

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
3,480
Will it be possible to get one of these with female 0.1 inch header attached to the pins for UART? I've been wanting to use that feature since I fould out the Pandora had it.
 

Esn

(:";
Joined
Mar 5, 2003
Messages
3,239
Location
Toronto, Canada
Website
esn.newgrounds.com
Thanks for the news!

I need to send my Pandora in for an RMA, would it make sense to do it so that you send the TV-Out cable along with it once it's fixed and save on shipping costs?

Who would it be best I send my Pandora to, in that case? You or the owner of ithic.com? (I live in Canada)
 

FaeMinx

Rainbow Liberation Instigation
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
3,131
Age
41
Location
outside looking in side looking out
Awesome!


Thanks for clearing it all up ED. I was unsure wether I needed to put my name down for one or not - I'm pleased my pre-order payment for a TV-Out cable is still on record.


I've been meaning to buy a 64gb SD card to upgrade the storage on my Pandora and also so I can use one of my 32gb's to install SL4P.


I'll wait to find out what payments are necessary and then order what I need from your shop. :)
 

ewok

Still Fresh
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
4
Hi

Remember: If you're interesting in getting one, please put yourself on the waiting list on the shop:

https://www.dragonbox.de/en/accessories/119-pandora-tv-out-cable.html

This helps me to find out how many cables I need to order and you'll also receive an eMail as soon as the cable is finished.

(If you already preordered right from the beginning, no need to do that, we got your order already).

I tried to create an account, but I got invalid email adress as a result. I am not so keen on getting a new email adress just to sign up at one place, what do I do?
 
Top