Two Years Was Worth The Wait

JWWargo

Still Fresh
I started watching these forums back in '08, checked back from time to time to see how things progressed, and just this month finally registered with the board.

Why the sudden re-interest, you ask? Because I finally took the plunge and ordered a premium Pandora. I got my shipping confirmation on Monday, so it's only a matter of days before it arrives. I made the purchase for many reasons, but greatest of all is that the Pandora fits with my lifestyle.

You see, I am a traveling writer/street performer. I hitchhike around the world (14 countries, 1 sovereign state and 1 principality so far!) reading my short stories and poetry on street corners to anyone who'll listen. I started doing this over 2 years ago and the biggest problem I've found is finding a decent portable computer that I can carry with me.

I last used an MSI wind U100, a good option, but a little on the heavy side. After a year of near constant traveling with it, however, the case started cracking. Long story short: I need a lightweight yet robust device that no matter where I might find myself will keep me in touch with friends and family and also give me something to write on (I don't mind tiny keyboards!). The Pandora is perfect for this.

And now I need your help:

As soon as my Pandora arrives, I will have at most a couple weeks to become familiarized with it before I begin traveling again this summer. When it arrives, I want to be as prepared as possible. I've been reading and educating myself on the Pandora Wiki, but I feel like a lot of that information won't become useful until after I have the device in hand. Anything I can start doing now?

I could probably use a crash course in Linux, I haven't used the OS since Red Hat back in 2000. Any links to guides or maybe some good Youtube vids you know of?