Ubuntu 9.10 And Android 2.0

Windy

Still Fresh
Is anyone likely to work on a port of Android 2.0 and Ubuntu 9.10 both of which have been recently released.

I am interested as I am keen for my Pandora to be an all round device, in particular for long journeys on crowded commuter trains. As such I am very interested in the normal Pandora type apps such as the emulators and media players for entertainment and relive aspects of my youth, but I am interested in using it for self training and making myself familiar with Ubuntu and Android.

Okay, I'm going to probably sound really stupid, but here goes anyway...

Are the emulators, games, etc being developed for one specific OS or will say Psx4All or Mupen64plus run on the Pandora hardware irrespective of the OS you are using?

haptagud said:

Are the emulators, games, etc being developed for one specific OS or will say Psx4All or Mupen64plus run on the Pandora hardware irrespective of the OS you are using?

I'm not an expert at this so I apologise if my comment is misplaced. However the OS in all these cases Android, Moblin, Angstrom, Ubunutu - is always ARM based Linux. So as long as you have all the package dependencies needed for the emulators in each case, then it should run fine.

Last edited by a moderator:
haptagud said:

For the most part, it is best to assume that a binary will only work with the OS it's intended for. However, when the OS's are all flavours of Linux (such as Angstrom, Ubuntu, Gentoo, Maemo, Android), there is also a high degree of binary compatibility and a good chance that the binaries can be made to work (but no guarantee).

I imagine that it's even possible to make a binary that will also work on the GP2X, Wiz and Pandora by dynamically linking to and hardware specific parts (like SDL). In reality I think that 99% of existing GP2x binaries are not made this way. Different display sizes, control layouts etc. would also make this a pain.