What Am I Not Doing Correctly?

Dave Bonds

Still Fresh
Hello!

This marks the first post for me here. I just purchased a minty GP2X F100 mk2 from ebay. It's so new (down to all of the original packaging and screen protector film) that I almost feel like I'm bastardizing it by installing anything on it. Like putting aftermarket parts on a survivor classic car that was untouched, or something. I'll be nice to it, though.

Anyway, After peering this forum for some time and wrapping my head around as much as I could without physically having one of these in front of me at the time, I'm still learning. Here is my problem;

The first thing that I did after looking around on the factory settings was try to run MAME4ALL on the root of a new SD card, with the 3.0 GPH NAND. It booted and immediately started MAME4ALL as expected and told me that there were no games found. Fair enough. So I go through the readme files and install a couple of ROMs that were supported in the list. I put the SD card back in again with MAME4ALL on the root still, no problems, brings up the menu for the games and I try playing Mappy. It seems to work fine. I can mess with it to experement what mhz to use, etc, no problem.

I try starting Mortal Kombat and it failed twice. So I try playing around with the settings and I finally get it to load, but it is very dodgey. Super slow and likes to freeze, even on the highest mhz setting that I could get it to load on.

After that I tried Final Fight, as I later discovered that MK has issues. Same thing. Ultra slow, even moreso than MK. I tried a hand full of other ROM files that were on the supported list with no luck, only to have MAME4ALL tell me that it couldn't find a hand full of files on each one. Fair enough, I could chalk it up to bad ROM sets. I'll deal with that later and work with the ones I know will boot.