Writing my own video game

almosthere

Still Fresh
Hi,

As you can tell, I'm new to the OpenPandora community. As a matter of fact, I just ordered mine last week. I was a lurker until today and I especially liked reading about upcoming games for the Pandora, among other platforms. One such game that comes to mind is Rainy Day and after seeings its preview this morning, I was really amazed of its quality considering Rainy Day was made by two people during their spare time. This inspired me to make something of my own, but I'm noob when it comes to programming and game art. I'm not a complete stranger to coding, I did some C, C++, Java and Assembly when I was in college, but just basics really. I know someone who's good with GIMP, so I got the graphics department covered. What I'm really looking for is any useful documentation when it comes to game design and coding. I could also use a refresher for C or whichever language you suggest I use for my first application. In the last three years, I've only used my laptop to check my emails. Also, please bear in mind that I never programmed for Linux or ARM architecture. Thank you for any suggestions.

I could also use a refresher for C or whichever language you suggest I use for my first application. In the last three years, I've only used my laptop to check my emails. Also, please bear in mind that I never programmed for Linux or ARM architecture. Thank you for any suggestions.

Start with SDL or Fenix (basic). LazyFoo tutorials are a good primer on basic SDL and game design.

I personally use SDL, which is a basic library that allows the developer to design an application that can work with all the major OS's using the same API (set of functions).

I suggest you start learning using a PC development setup.