1GHz impressions and questions

Bloodstone

Still Fresh
Let me prefface all this by saying I am a relative Linux n00b. I've messed around with emulation on Windows and on the Dingoo A320, so while I'm no expert, I've got a little bit of knowledge (which I'm told is a dangerous thing..) I've been following the project since '08, but missed out on the first batch preorders. I (obviously) don't post much, content to just lurk until I actually had my unit in hand. Well, I've had my 1Ghz Pandora for two days now :)

Generally, my impression has been pretty darn good and it keeps getting better as I get used to the little guy and all the quirks. My right nub was sticking a bit at first, but I broke it in and it hasn't given me a problem since. Using the repo and PNDstore to load PND's on the my SD card has been a snap.

Snes9x4P and PicoDrive 1.8 have been flawless so far. I really wish I had put more ROM's on my SD card for these two

gpSP also worked fine once I hunted down a BIOS file.

gpFCE-GP2X seems to be working fine for the most part. Played some Bionic Commando, Super Mario, Castlevania and Mega Man. Oddly, Mike Tyson's Punch Out has terrible graphical glitches. Is this a known issue? This exact same ROM has worked fine on multiple emulators on various devices, but when I get a chance I may just locate another copy to see if that helps at all. If it is an issue with the game, I'll try it out on some other emulator (Mednafen runs NES, right?)

Mupen 64Plus would not load any games at all initially, so I figured I had done someting wrong. Wasted an hour or so last night trying to fix it, but to no avail. Then it just up and started working after I updated to SuperZaxxon v1.51. Playing a bit of Mario 64 was fun, though I found the sound on Mario Kart 64 to be... grating. Also, it doesn't always quit out properly when I hit the Pandora button. Need to check the compatability list to see what else is worth giving a try.