3d Real Performance

Wait. The Pandora won't have any dedicated VRAM? It all going to be shared from system memory? That changes my mind a little on the potential possibilities of the system.

While I'm a decent computer tech, I'm not nearly as knowledgeable as some of the people here. It feels like I just took a foreign language course and went to a native speaking country. I know quite a bit but some of the stuff goes right over my head.

VRAM does not necessarily equal memory swapping. VRAM still maps into real memory as well, it just allows you to exceed physical memory by swapping to disk if physical memory gets full. I assume you meant memory swapping though.
I still don't think the SD cards would be fast enough for swap, even accounting for the seek time. Not only does the average write rate account for random access, but you wouldn't normally write one block at a time anyway; more likely a few megs at a time in one contiguous chunk.
It'd be an interesting comparison at the least, I think.
Anywho, I'm hoping it's all a moot discussion anyway: I'm currently running dosbox, kdevelop, pidgen, totem (playing MP3s), and a professional decompiler called The Interactive Disassembler through Wine in about 150 megs. A few tweaks should easily bring memory usage down. Speaking of Firefox will only hurt my case, unfortunately...
I remember running Netscape and word, and some other apps all at the same time on win3.1 with a whole 4 meg of ram, and up to 8 megs of swap space. WOW! And now we're worried that 128 megs won't be enough?

bustaballs said:
Wait. The Pandora won't have any dedicated VRAM? It all going to be shared from system memory? That
As already stated, no dedicated VRAM, but the processor does have dedicated cache :)

Last edited by a moderator:
bustaballs said:
Wait. The Pandora won't have any dedicated VRAM? It all going to be shared from system memory? That changes my mind a little on the potential possibilities of the system.