Beginner's advice?

cinaed666

Hi, I don't have my pandora yet, but I've been daydreaming about some game ideas I have, and I'd like some advice.

I'm not new to programming, in fact I know some C++ (Have done some NDS homebrew), Python, and some BASIC variants, but I am pretty new to game design and game programming. (the graphical aspect.)

Are there any Libs that are beginner friendly that work on the pandora? (Any of the Languages I mentioned) I'd like to do some 2.5D-ish RPG in the style of the old fallout games.

I mean, I don't want to re-invent the wheel, if there are some good sources available...

First, to clarify, when you say 2.5D in the style of classic Fallout, you're referring to the oblique/isometric perspective it has, right? That is, all game assets and drawing are 2D, but the character moves through a 3D world. This is in contrast to games like LittleBigPlanet or Trine (also sometimes called 2.5D) that have 2D sidescrolling gameplay, but everything is created with 3D models.

With that clear, I do all my work in Python. It's pretty easy to get Python games running on the Pandora, since no compiling is involved and Pygame is included by default. However, these have been reported to be pretty slow if you're not careful (I don't yet have my Pandora, so I haven't tested directly). If you already know Python fairly well, Pygame should be easy to pick up, but make sure to test performance as you go.

If you want to specifically target Pandora, you might want to consider Penjin, which specifically targets it. But I don't know much about Penjin, so hopefully PokeParadox will come in to edify.

In general I would go for C++ and SDL or OpenGLES if you want to make a game for the Pandora.

Python is available, but reports show that even simple games are running fairly slow.

Then, of course, you can also write your own software renderer ;)