C++ Sdl And Svg

taltoris

Still Fresh
Hi, I'm a hobbyist/designer/coder in my other (real) life, and I've decided to try my hand at coding some sort of game. I decided to design a side-scroller using C++ (to easily apply physics to objects), SVG (so I can port to larger resolutions, maybe do some cool zooming effects w/o sacrificing quality), and SDL (because I found a tutorial online that covered some of the basics and decided to go from there).

I have an SVG sprite below.
calipso.png

All the body-parts are grouped and such, so I can (in theory) easily animate it by just rotating limbs about sockets. Here's my dilemma, I'm new to this, so I was wondering what's the best way to go about animating this thing?
I could just rotate multiple SVG files (limbs) in C++ and piece them together (maybe with the help of some animation xml file?). Obviously, this would be a lot of work.
Another option is that I could export a ton of SVG files, one for each frame of each animation, but this seems like it would be pretty memory intensive (duplicates of multiple layers, some of which are only partly seen). If I did that, I might as well just export every frame to a png or something.

What do you guys think, am I tackling this from the wrong angle? Or should I try one of the ideas above?

-Doug

I would have a separate file (or heck, even embed it into the SVG, I think it is extensible) that defines how much each joint is rotated at 5ms keyframes.

SVG is normally too CPU intensive for games, but if you use a OpenVG renderer it will be hardware accelerated on the Pandora, so I guess it should be alright.