GP2X Curious About It :)

MOG

Still Fresh
Hey there ! (neewbieemaybiiieee)

Just read, and gotten to know a bit about the GP2x and it looks good (to good to be true infact).
I'de like a handheld that runs c64 emu and Amiga emu (just like gp2x does),
mame and video/mp3's is just a nice bonus ....
I've barely started to read in the wiki hardware docs without feeling "that" much smarter (lack of knowledge),
but I could read about the wm9711L audiochip fairely well.
(I might add I've been making techno since 1990 on Amiga and needed to see if it is usable as a portable recording device also.)

I am very curious how things are from developing perspective.
I know gamemaking since -20 years but only at Basic /higherlevels / editors.
New to linux, pc and computers at lower levels in general so, eeek.
But I'de really like to start toggle bits at $ch14 and $ch15 and see how the hardware responds to my delicious commands.
Could some of you help me picture how this is set up/ done ?
I've barely done any assembling before (a tiny bit on c64) but wouldn't mind trying at the gp2x.
(I vision it as a super-duper-multi-"all-purpose" tool in the futer)

What setup options are there ?
Is there emus or something simular to use of the GP2X core for x-plattform dev ?
Are any of you coding games, demos, progs in low level now ?
I will figure things out as I read but wondered who's doing what and how ? Any previews/ avi clips/ documents to look at etc.
Tutorials /guides you recomend.

Andre

(I might add I've been making techno since 1990 on Amiga and needed to see if it is usable as a portable recording device also.)