GP2X Developing A 2d Platformer

netwalker

Still Fresh
Hey All,

OK, I started a thread about 6 months ago wanting to start developing a game for the gp2x but wasn't really sure where to start. Due to life and other stuff this had to be put onto the backburner for sometime. However I'm now ready to start afresh and have another go (well I didn't get started in the first place ;)), I have the time and motivation to get coding on this cool little box. From the outset I would like to make it clear that I'm a pretty competent C/C++ programmer and have a reasonable knowledge of coding in ASM for 0x86 based processors, but I'm no ASM guru :(. This development knowledge has strictly been on DOS and Windoze based boxes. Although I recently installed a flavour of Linux (Ubuntu), I'm a first time user of this and it looks pretty cool :).

The actual game that I've got in mind will be one that I've already written its on my Windozw box. Its basically a 2D platformer, yeah right I know like the GP2X doesn't need another platformer :). Anyways as far as the algorithms go its pretty good. The game works at a good speed (on my main PC) and I'm happy with it. I just want to port it to the GP2X as an avenue to start developing for it. As a result I would also like to document the complete development process from start to finish. Maybe other newbies to the device might find the information within useful for their own projects on the GP2X. Also I love homebrew and emulation too :D.

Anyway I'm ready to get started. So lets talk dev tools:

So where to start?. Well I have been digging round and there appears to be a wealth of dev tools, so much so that I'm completely swamped in it all. This is even before I start to look at SDKs. They range from command-line compilers to fully integrated development environments. For convienence I would like to use a command-line version of a compiler.

So the first sets of questions are these: