Development In Linux?

Frontier

Still Fresh
i wasent sure if to post this in the homebrew or i need help forum.

im trying to get into development for the gp2x but im having some trouble.
i have some coding experience in c++ / c#. however i did that in windows, with visual studio, which was pretty simple, just install visual studio, type in code and hit compile. anyway right now im using linux (debian test/lenny to be precise) and im trying to get a compiler and the nessesary stuff sat up to compile programs for the gp2x, but im completely lost.

http://wiki.gp2x.org/wiki/Installing_the_Open2x_toolchain i did as this wiki article said.
and i now have the toolchain and the libraries extracted into /opt/open2x .... but then what??

i have the code file with this sample program http://wiki.gp2x.org/wiki/Writing_an_SDL_Hello_World . but how do i compile it?
the article says to run "gcc sdltest.c -I /usr/include/SDL -lSDL -o sdltest" and that does produce a compiled file, however i dont believe this compiles it for the gp2x? rather for a normal pc.
what command do i use to compile the sourcecode with the open2x toolchain? so it produces a .gpe file for the gp2x?
after some more digging i found this : http://wiki.open2x.org/open2x/wiki/index.php?title=Toolchain in the bottom it says:

You can use the tools by adding /opt/open2x/ + TOOLCHAINNAME + /bin to your OS path or just point directly to the tools in your makefile/scripts.

i.e. CPP = /opt/open2x/gcc-4.1.1-glibc-2.3.6/bin/arm-open2x-linux-g++

All tools feature 'correct' canonical tool names (arm-open2x-linux-*) so you should have no problem using this tool-chain with autotools for cross-compiling (provided the scripts are cross-compiler aware of course.

i havent a clue what OS path is, or a makefile..
so how do i use the toolchain to compile for the gp2x?