GP32 Do I Need To Learn Hex?

Melville

Hi, I'm trying to learn C++ at the moment (seems to make sense so far :)), but I'm having difficulty working out exactly what's going on in some of the example code for GP32 programs because they're full of Hex numbers.

I don't have the faintest clue how hex works (well, something about base-eight?), and being a lazy student, I would rather not have to learn unless it's really necessary.

So, is knowlege of hex essential / useful / just for showoffs when coding for GP32 in C++? If it's not important, could some kind person give me a clue what the hex in the code segment below means so I can get on with my life?

GpRectFill(NULL, &gpDraw[nflip], 0, 0, gpDraw[nflip].buf_w, gpDraw[nflip].buf_h, 0xff)

If hex is important, I'll start googling for tutorials (I hate maths :().

Thanks,
Melville

Apologies for all the superfluous commas - I blame poor teaching of grammar in schools.

Melville posted on Mar 2 2004 at 04:29 PM said:
Hi, I'm trying to learn C++ at the moment (seems to make sense so far :)), but I'm having difficulty working out exactly what's going on in some of the example code for GP32 programs because they're full of Hex numbers.

I don't have the faintest clue how hex works (well, something about base-eight?), and being a lazy student, I would rather not have to learn unless it's really necessary.

So, is knowlege of hex essential / useful / just for showoffs when coding for GP32 in C++? If it's not important, could some kind person give me a clue what the hex in the code segment below means so I can get on with my life?

GpRectFill(NULL, &gpDraw[nflip], 0, 0, gpDraw[nflip].buf_w, gpDraw[nflip].buf_h, 0xff)

If hex is important, I'll start googling for tutorials (I hate maths :().

Thanks,
Melville

Apologies for all the superfluous commas - I blame poor teaching of grammar in schools.
Basically, it's not base-eight but base-sixteen and easy to understand.