Does USB Monitors Work?

Changis

Still Fresh
I just upgraded my order and are awaiting my Pandora. in that respect i thought i could get some info here about the compatability to use USB Monitors.

I have searched the forums for any info on this, but the closest thing i found was a usb to vga thread.

I was wondering if the Pandora will support Displaylink monitors?

I know there is a Linux driver for it HERE and lilliput.cn provides a generous variation of drivers for the touchkit (tocuh screen driver)

also, if this will work with a USB Hub.

I have a 8" Lilliput USB monitor that i use in my car, and i was thinking of replacing my EEE pc with the pandora as a detachable carputer.

also, could someone inform me if a specific driver version for linux (suse, mandrake etc) works (more or less) directly with the ängström distro or would it have to be ported or similar?

Short Answer: Yes!

The Long Answer comes with a disclaimer: I've no hands-on experience with an actual USB display (or with an actual Pandora *sadface*). However DisplayLink is supported by the kernel frame buffer, so the standard xf86-video-fbdev should do the trick, assuming the stock Pandora kernel is up-to-date enough.

It should be said that this is a pretty big assumption. DisplayLink support is fairly recent, and without toys to play with I lack sufficient motivation to find out if this is the case. At least in theory the worst case scenario is you need to compile yourself a new kernel.

Be sure to share the results with us if you try it!

im sure someone on the GP32x form had an usb monitor working with the pandora but ud have to search there

I have been able to run a liliput UM70C on a sheevaplug and a gumstix without problems so it should work without any problem on the pandora.

I don't know if the current kernel is compiled with the displaylink drivers (I might be totally wrong on this but i think the kernel is to old to have the displaylink drivers).