Html5? Remote Desktop? Playable?

Blue Ion said:
What was happening in may computer and the reason why it lagged so much was that the game was capped at 25 fps, so now it is 40ms, vlc was actually taking more than 40 ms to encode each frame, plus some artificial lag to encode present frames using future frames which adds 160 ms on top of that, plus a cache or buffer vlc had that I forgot to disable adding 100 ms.
If you sum everything now, the lag goes to 355ms, still bearable, but now noticeable. In my case the weak link was the encoder.

So the weak link is the encoder (this breaks up each frame into packet sized pieces?) which sounds like a math/optimization problem. Is it that hard to make it faster? I feel like a total noob saying, "can't you just make it go?" I know it is more complex I have just been trying to figure out if this is project that will be solved soon, or they just need more help. I want to help, but I have a lot to learn and I would be very frustrated to arrive and find out that it is A: already solved who wants to re-invent the wheel (unless it needed re-inventing) or B: so close to done that no one needs my help. I don't mind contributing in little ways, I just want to get experience while doing something fun and making friends.

Last edited by a moderator:
XxionxX said:
Blue Ion said:
What was happening in may computer and the reason why it lagged so much was that the game was capped at 25 fps, so now it is 40ms, vlc was actually taking more than 40 ms to encode each frame, plus some artificial lag to encode present frames using future frames which adds 160 ms on top of that, plus a cache or buffer vlc had that I forgot to disable adding 100 ms.
If you sum everything now, the lag goes to 355ms, still bearable, but now noticeable. In my case the weak link was the encoder.