I Am A Hsdpa Noob

gibberish

so thanks to wikipedia i have learned that hsdpa is a 3g communications protocol. my phone contract ends in april, and i plan to get a phone which i can tether to my pandora in order to have access to the internets wherever iam.

firstly, is hsdpa what im looking for? any phone which supports hsdpa can be used with pandora right? if a phone uses 3g does it necessarily also support hsdpa?

secondly, which uk phone networks offer the best plans for use with this? and lastly, would the sony ericcson experia or htc touch pro be suitable candidates for the job?

thanks

3G just means "third gen data over wireless". HSDPA is the latest and greatest flavor of 3G for GSM cell networks. Having a 3G phone does not necessarily mean it supports HSDPA, as it may use one of the slightly older standards. Honestly, those older standards are still quite quick. It's like the difference between EVDO and EVDO rev A on a CDMA network. Technically they're all 3G. The new stuff is just a bit faster.

Just to confuse matters further, some companies refer to the latest standards as "3.5G", while others don't.

As for working with the Pandora, the phone will have to support bluetooth or USB tethering. Not all do. Some phones do, but the carrier might lock out the feature. This is SOP for Verizon in the US. I don't know how common it is in the UK, but it is definately look into before making a purchase.

Three is your best bet imo, they have a good HSDPA network and coverage.

You can get 'unlimited' under a fair usage policy for £5 per month on contract or £10 per month for 1GB on Pay as you go.

Most new top of the range phones will support HSDPA, quick search of Google indicates both phones do support it.... worth checking you can get it in your area too! Most cities should do.

I surf fairly often using my 3.5g connection and find it quite quick for general internet surfing, can take a little while to 'find' the site but once it starts going its pretty quick.