I Need Some Help

7zark7

Have been wasting loads of time with the official sdk and getting nowhere, i get a succesfull build but the gpe will not run.

Life is to short to be buggering around with a sdk and document which seems full of misinformation, plus I have never used codeblocks before.

So the question is , what are you using for development , what works... I did google around looking for a development how to , but unless I am missing it ....

I can do either windows or linux , so any advice would be more than welcome.

Mark

i'm using codeblocks inside a VM using orkie/torpor's toolchain:

http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/48635-a-slightly-more-complete-toolchain-libs-for-linux-devs/

the generated binaries are running without any problems on my wiz. i've created my PACC entry with this toolchain.

setting up codeblocks isnt difficult, you just need to setup a new compiler that points to the correct binary locations. use hints from the gp2x wiki http://wiki.gp2x.org/wiki/Using_CodeBlocks

thats in fact all you need. the toolchain contains SDL you may need to get some quick test app running.

just to be sure: you actually need to DRAW something, a simple "cout << "hello world"; endl;" will NOT work!

*edit*
if you want to stay on windows: http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/wiz.cgi?0,0,0,0,14,333 might also help. never tried it by myself but it is said that it works without problems.

Last edited by a moderator:
I use GLBasic (Windows development only at the moment). It's an enhanced BASIC like language that is easy to learn, very fast and offers 2D and 3D functions. It cross-compiles so that you can run your game on numerous platforms including GP2X, iPhone/iPod Touch (requires a Mac and Apple license to allow your apps to appear on the AppStore), Linux, OSX etc.