Idea For Server Thing....

EpicLulz

Still Fresh
I'm very excited for the Pandora and I want to help the cause, but I am just starting out in the programming world. However, I do have a lot of experience in web development. An idea came to me as a possible way of managing multiplayer game servers. If you have ever played Warcraft 3, you know that each multiplayer game has a "host" player, where all of the information between players travel through the host's computer. This is kind of the basic idea how this method would work. It does not require a server program to be run on a dedicated server. It can be accomplished through MYSQL databases and simple PHP scripts.

To outline how this would work, I wiped up a quick diagram:
CODE
http://i43.tinypic.com/2yv9jeo.png

Would anyone find this useful?

Last edited by a moderator:
Search the forums for TINXL and POND. Such a project has already been started :p

EDIT: look here:
www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?showtopic=44768
www.pandorawiki.org/TINXL

Your right. I had seen those before but I had just assumed that they were just programming libraries. I may still embark on this. I plan to have a really easy web interface that developers could use. I could also implement a way were if gamers registered on the site, they stats could be recorded. This could eventually lead to an achievement system. The possibilities go on and on. Would anyone be interested in this sort of thing?

EpicLulz said:
Would anyone be interested in this sort of thing?
OK, I'll just ask the (usual ?) qualification questions that might require an answer before this project can gain any interest:

1. Do you have any features in mind that don't already exist in POND or TINXL?
1.1. If so, can't you just contribute to one of those projects? 3 network standards are difficult to handle in such a small project as the OpenPandora afaik.